Klopfenstein on Mackey Award Watch List

Colorado senior tight end Joe Klopfenstein is on the official 2005 John Mackey Award watch list, the Nassau County Sports Commission announced Tuesday.

Joe Klopfenstein is one of 20 players on the Mackey Award watch list as teams around the country gear up to begin fall camps.

Klopfenstein had 28 catches for 284 yards last fall. His five catches for 134 yards, including a 78-yard touchdown, helped the Buffs beat UTEP in the 2004 Houston Bowl. The 78-yard scamper is the longest reception by a tight end in school history.

The John Mackey Award is given annually to the nation's best collegiate tight end. The Mackey Award selection committee announces the winner in December. Former Colorado tight end Daniel Graham won the award in 2001.

Previous Mackey Award winners include Tim Stratton, Purdue, 2000; Graham; Dallas Clark, 2002, Iowa; Kellen Winslow Jr., 2003, Miami; Heath Miller, 2004, Virginia.

BuffStampede Top Stories