Buffs Play Four QBs on O'Brien Watch List

Colorado will face four teams boasting quarterbacks on the preseason Davey O'Brien Award watch list. The Buffs' signal-caller, three-year starter Joel Klatt, is not on the list.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced the preseason watch list for the 2005 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award on Thursday. The award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback.

The O'Brien Award is the oldest award in the country for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien. O'Brien led the TCU Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards in one season.

The Buffs will face four quarterbacks on this year's list. They include Colorado State's Justin Holland (Sept. 3, Folsom Field), Texas A&M's Reggie McNeal (Oct. 8 at Folsom Field), Texas' Vince Young (Oct. 15 at Texas) and Missouri's Brad Smith (Nov. 5 at Folsom Field).

CU quarterback Joel Klatt is not among the 33 players on the watch list. Klatt is expected to be the team's starter for the third-consecutive season, and with just 1,321 passing yards in 2005 would become one of only two CU quarterbacks to throw for 6,000 yards in his career. Kordell Stewart is CU's all-time passing leader with 6,481 passing yards.

Koy Detmer (finalist, 1996) and John Hessler (semifinalist, 1997) are the only CU quarterbacks to make the Davey O'Brien watch list.

Semifinalists will be announced in early November as voted on by the O'Brien Selection Committee, a nationwide panel of sportswriters and commentators, as well as former O'Brien Award winners. The committee will then narrow the field to three finalists and then the winner. The winner will be announced Dec. 8.

The 33 candidates, in alphabetical order, are:

Erik Ainge, Tennessee
John Beck, BYU
Corey Bramlet, Wyoming
Brian Brohm, Louisville
Shaun Carney, Air Force
Kellen Clemens, Oregon
Brodie Croyle, Alabama
Jay Cutler, Vanderbilt
Bruce Gradkowski, Toledo
Tye Gunn, TCU
Darrell Hackney, UAB
Marques Hagans, Virginia
Chad Henne, Michigan
Justin Holland, Colorado State
Omar Jacobs, Bowling Green
Steven Jyles, Louisiana-Monroe
Kevin Kold, Houston
Chris Leak, Florida
Matt Leinart, USC
Clint Marks, Middle Tenn. St.
Reggie McNeal, Texas A&M
Tyler Palko, Pittsburgh
Jordan Palmer, UTEP
Paul Pinegar, Fresno State
Quinton Porter, Boston College
Jeff Rowe, Nevada
Brad Smith, Missouri
Drew Stanton, Michigan State
Drew Tate, Iowa
Marcus Vick, Virginia Tech
Charlie Whitehurst, Clemson
Vince Young, Texas
Jared Zabransky, Boise State

BuffStampede Top Stories