Roby Earns First-Team Big 12 Honor

League coaches voted Colorado sophomore Richard Roby to the first-team All-Big 12 squad, the Big 12 announced Monday.

Richard Roby, the 6-6 guard, leads the Buffs in scoring (17.8 ppg), rebounds (5.6), steals (2.2) and 3-pointers (61). Six times in the 2005-06 season, the high-flying player has scored 24 points or more, including a season-high 33. He's led the Buffs to a 19-8 overall record and a fifth-place finish in the Big 12.

Roby is just the fourth Colorado basketball player to earn first-team honors, joining David Harrison (2003-04), Jacquay Walls (1999-2000) and Chauncey Billups (1996-97).

Colorado gets back to practice today to prepare for the first round of the Big 12 tournament. CU, the 5 seed, plays No. 12 seed Baylor Thursday at 1 p.m. MT. The winner will play 4 seed Texas A&M at 1 p.m. Friday.

Joining Roby on the first team are guard Brandon Rush, of Kansas; forwards LaMarcus Aldridge and P.J. Tucker, of Texas; and guard Jarrius Jackson, of Texas Tech.

Tucker was named Big 12 Player of the Year, while Oklahoma guard Michael Neal earned Newcomer of the Year accolades. Rush was tabbed Freshman of the Year, and his coach, Kansas' Bill Self, picked up Coach of the Year honors after he lead Kansas to a share of the regular-season Big 12 title, when his team had begun the conference season 1-2.

The rest of the All-Big 12 teams are:

2nd team
G Curtis Stinson, Iowa State; G Terrell Everett, Oklahoma; F Cartier Martin, Kansas State, F Taj Gray, Oklahoma, F Joseph Jones, Texas A&M.

3rd team
G Will Blalock, Iowa State; G Thomas Gardner, Missouri; G Daniel Gibson, Texas, G Acie Law, Texas A&M, F Brad Buckman, Texas.

Honorable mention
Aaron Bruce (Baylor), Mario Chalmers & Julian Wright (Kansas), Jimmy McKinney (Missouri), Aleks Maric & Wes Wilkinson (Nebraska), Kevin Bookout & Michael Neal (Oklahoma), Mario Boggan & JamesOn Curry (Oklahoma State), Martin Zeno (Texas Tech).

All-Defensive team
G Mario Chalmers, Kansas; G Russell Robinson, Kansas; F Taj Gray, Oklahoma; F LaMarcus Aldridge, Texas; F P.J. Tucker, Texas.

All-Rookie team
G Curtis Jerrels, Baylor; G Mario Chalmers, Kansas; G Brandon Rush, Kansas; F Julian Wright, Kansas; G Michael Neal, Oklahoma.

BuffStampede Top Stories