Harrison Receives Another Award

Colorado star David Harrison received another award Tuesday, as he was named USBWA All-District. He is the first Buff to receive the award since Chauncey Billips did it in 1996-97.

BOULDER - University of Colorado sophomore center David Harrison was named to the All-District (8) team, as selected by the United States Basketball Writers Association, the first Buffalo to be honored on the squad in six seasons.

Harrison, who is currently averaging 13.8 points and 8.5 rebounds, is coming off his second career triple-double, as he had 20 points, 11 blocked shots and 10 rebounds in CU's 84-69 win over Nebraska last Saturday night that closed the regular season.

Colorado, 19-10 on the year, is the No. 6 seed in this week's Big 12 Conference tournament in Dallas, and plays Kansas State, the No. 11 seed, in a 7:30 p.m. game Thursday (to be televised by ESPN2).

The last Buffalo to be honored with All-District accolades by the USBWA was guard Chauncey Billups for the 1996-97 Season, the last time Colorado was invited to the NCAA tournament.

The 10-member team is made up of players from seven states: Colorado, Utah, Wyoming, New Mexico, Montana, Idaho and Nevada. The coach of the year for the district is Weber State's Joe Cravens; the player of the year was UNLV's Marcus Banks.

Wyoming was the only school to have two players named (Donta Richardson, Uche Nsonwu-Anadi); CU forward/guard Michel Morandais received several votes but not enough to make the team.

BuffStampede Top Stories