DePaul Set to Play in Diamond Head Classic

CHICAGO – DePaul joins six other previously announced teams that have committed to play in the 2014 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, Hawai'i. The field for the sixth annual event includes Colorado, DePaul, George Washington, Nebraska, Ohio, Wichita State and tournament host school Hawai'i. The eighth team will be announced once finalized.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men's college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games through three days on December 22, 23 and 25, 2014. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through the bracket. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in the championship game on the final day of the tournament.

DePaul is playing the Diamond Head Classic for the first time after playing in the Maui Invitational in 1988, 1992, 1997 and 2006.

Previous tournament champions of the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic include USC (2009), Butler (2010), Kansas State (2011), Arizona (2012) and Iowa State (2013).

The family-friendly tournament includes three days of tournament play, practices, events and travel experiences unique to the islands of Hawai'i.

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television. For information, visit

We Are DePaul Top Stories