USA Today

Garrett Named to Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team

DePaul senior guard Billy Garrett Jr. was one of 10 players recognized on the 15th Annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Scholar-Athlete Team. 

Garrett was one of 10 NCAA Division I players recognized for both academic and athletic excellence. 

Each of the nominees for the honor is required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve.   Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, he/she must have reached JUNIOR academic standing at their institution.  

Garrett was the second DePaul player to receive this honor.  DePaul alum Drake Diener was honored three times from 2003-05 and was selected as the Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2005. 

2017 Men's Scholar-Athlete Team

Name Institution GPA Major

Evan Bradds Belmont 3.49 Finance

Mike Crawford Saint Louis 3.84 Accounting

Clayton Custer Loyola-Chicago 3.59 Finance

Billy Garrett Jr. DePaul 3.242 Finance

Brian Hand UNC Asheville 3.966 Management/Economics

Przemek Karnowski Gonzaga 3.43 Business Administration

Nate Kratch Santa Clara 3.89 Psychology

Albert Owens Oral Roberts 3.62 Histry

Kevin Vannata UNC Asheville 3.927 Accounting

Nigel Williams-Goss Gonzaga 3.84 Psychology

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga University

We Are DePaul Top Stories