DePaul Announces 2005-06 Women's Basketball Slate

CHICAGO - In one of the most anticipated seasons in the program's 32-year history, DePaul head coach Doug Bruno announced today the schedule for the 2005-06 season. The 29-game schedule features the Rainbow Wahine Classic in Honolulu while the BIG EAST slate has home dates with Connecticut, Notre Dame and Villanova. The Blue Demons face 16 teams that played in the postseason last year, including seven NCAA Tournament participants.

"With DePaul's move to the BIG EAST, this year's schedule will definitely be the most challenging in DePaul women's basketball history," said Bruno. "In addition to our BIG EAST schedule, our non-conference schedule is deceivingly tough with NCAA tourney teams like Purdue, Wisconsin-Green Bay, St. Francis. The Big 12's Texas A&M and the Big Ten's Wisconsin are also Hawaii possibilities, while Eastern Michigan and UNLV were WNIT participants. Missouri State won the WNIT and local rivals, Loyola and Northwestern always make their home town rivalry games tougher than just another night on the town."

Following a pair of exhibition games against St. Xavier and the Chicago Challengers, DePaul welcomes Alabama State, Harvard and UNLV to the DePaul Athletic Center for the DePaul Invitational. The Blue Demons take on Harvard in the first day of action preceded by UNLV and Alabama State. The two winners will play for the championship on Saturday, Nov. 20 with the consolation game taking place at 5:30 p.m.

The Thanksgiving holiday sees DePaul in Hawai'i for the 27th annual Rainbow Wahine Classic in Honolulu. DePaul plays Eastern Illinois in the first round of the eight-team tournament that also features Cal State Northridge, Hawai'i, Idaho State, Texas A&M, Washington State and Wisconsin. The Blue Demons went 2-1 during the 2002-03 season at the same tournament losing to North Carolina and defeating Fordham and Denver.

DePaul returns to Chicago and takes the first of two trips to Milwaukee on Nov. 30 for a Wednesday evening match-up with UW-Milwaukee. The Blue Demons also play at Marquette on Jan. 7 in BIG EAST Conference action.

The month of December has seven games scheduled starting with Purdue on Dec. 3. DePaul opens BIG EAST action on Dec. 7 when they travel to Tampa to take on the USF Bulls. Following the brief trip, the team returns to the Chicagoland area for the remainder of the month. A three-game homestand starts on Dec. 10 with UW-Green Bay followed by Northern Illinois on Dec. 12 and St. Francis on Dec. 17. The Blue Demons stay local with games at Loyola-Chicago and Northwestern on Dec. 20 and 22, before closing the month with a Dec. 28 contest against Missouri State. Missouri State, formerly Southwest Missouri State, won the 2005 WNIT over BIG EAST member West Virginia.

January opens with DePaul jumping right into conference action on Jan. 3 with a home game against Pittsburgh. The Blue Demons travel to Marquette on Jan. 7 before hosting Villanova on Jan. 14. Two pairs of road games sandwich a two-game homestand heading in February. The tough six-game run opens at Notre Dame on Jan. 17 with a trip to Seton Hall scheduled for four days later. The third and fourth games of the stretch are at home against Louisville and Connecticut followed by games at West Virginia on Jan. 31 and Rutgers on Feb. 4. A closer look at the six-game stretch features five postseason appearances with NCAA Tournament participants Notre Dame, Louisville, Connecticut and Rutgers.

Cincinnati travels to the DePaul Athletic Center on Feb. 8 before Notre Dame visits on Feb. 12. The final four games of the regular season are at Georgetown on Feb. 15, against St. John's on Feb. 18, at Providence on Feb. 25 and the finale at home on Feb. 28 against Syracuse.

The BIG EAST Women's Basketball Championship returns to the Hartford Civic Center for the third straight year in 2006. The four-day event will be held from March 4-7. The BIG EAST's top 12 teams battle for the conference title and the champion earns the league's automatic bid to the 64-team NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship. The BIG EAST Tournament annually ranks at the top of all conference tournament attendance.

"The BIG EAST is one of the toughest conferences in the country because of its strength from top to bottom," said Bruno. "At least 10 BIG EAST teams possess the quality and ability to make this year's NCAA tournament, with at least four more also able to compete their way in with a great season."

The Allstate Arena and DePaul University serve as host of one of eight first and second-round sites for the 2006 NCAA Women's Basketball Championship. First round games are set for Saturday, Mar. 18 with the second round slated for Monday, Mar. 20. Ticket packages are available by calling the DePaul Ticket Office at (773) 325-7526.

DePaul Women's Basketball
2005-06 Schedule
Date Day Opponent Time

Nov. 5 Sat. St. Xavier (exhib.)tba
Nov. 12 Sat. Chicago Challengers (exhib.)tba

DePaul Invitational (Chicago, Ill.)
Nov. 18 Fri. UNLV vs. Alabama State 5:30 p.m.
DePaul vs. Harvard 7:30 p.m.
Nov. 19 Sat. Consolation Game 5:30 p.m.
Championship Game 7:30 p.m.
Rainbow Wahine Classic (Honolulu, Hawaii)
Nov. 25 Fri. vs. Eastern Michigan 8:30 p.m.
Nov. 26 Sat. vs. Cal State Northridge or Texas A&M tba
Nov. 27 Sun. vs. Idaho State, Hawai'i, Washington State or Wisconsin tba
Nov. 30 Wed. at UW-Milwaukee 7 p.m.
Dec. 3 Sat. Purdue 7 p.m.
Dec. 7 Wed. at SF* tba
Dec. 10 Sat. UW-Green Bay tba
Dec. 12 Mon. Northern Illinois 7 p.m.
Dec. 17 Sat. St. Francis (Pa.) tba
Dec. 20 Tues. at Loyola-Chicago tba
Dec. 22 Thur. at Northwestern 7 p.m.
Dec. 28 Wed. Missouri State 7 p.m.
Jan. 3 Tues. Pittsburgh* tba
Jan. 7 Sat. at Marquette* tba
Jan. 14 Sat. Villanova* tba
Jan. 17 Tues. at Notre Dame* tba
Jan. 21 Sat. at Seton Hall* tba
Jan. 25 Wed. Louisville* tba
Jan. 28 Sat. Connecticut* tba
Jan. 31 Tues. at West Virginia* tba
Feb. 4 Sat. at Rutgers* tba
Feb. 8 Wed. Cincinnati* tba
Feb. 12 Sun. Notre Dame tba
Feb. 15 Wed. at Georgetown* tba
Feb. 18 Sat. St. John's* tba
Feb. 25 Sat. at Providence* tba
Feb. 28 Tues. Syracuse* tba

BIG EAST Conference Tournament (Hartford, Conn.)
Mar. 4-7 Sat.-Tues. Hartford Civic Center tba
*BIG EAST Conference game
all times are Central

We Are DePaul Top Stories