Three DePaul Women Earn All-BIG EAST Honors

HARTFORD, Conn. – For the third straight season, the DePaul women's basketball program placed three players on all-conference squads. Unanimous first team selection Khara Smith headlined the DePaul trio as Allie Quigley and Jenna Rubino picked up second team honors. DePaul and Rutgers led the BIG EAST with three selections each on conference first and second teams.

Smith was one of four unanimous first team honorees joining Player of the Year Cappie Pondexter, USF's Jessica Dickson and Megan Duffy of Notre Dame. The 10-member first team featured players from nine of the BIG EAST's 16 programs. Rutgers and St. John's placed two players each on the BIG EAST first team.

The BIG EAST honor is Smith's third consecutive first team recognition as she was a Conference USA first-teamer following her sophomore and junior seasons. She led the league this year with 19 double-doubles and 11.1 rebounds per game. Smith was ranked among the league's leaders in rebounding (1st-11.1), defensive rebounds (1st-7.90 rpg), field goal percentage (2nd-.586), scoring (3rd-17.8 ppg), steals (4th-2.14 spg), offensive rebounds (8th-3.24 rpg) and free throw percentage (9th-.710).

Quigley picked up second team All-BIG EAST honors after averaging 15.7 points and knocking down a team-high 52 three-pointers. The BIG EAST recognition marks her second all-conference honor as she was a third team Conference USA honoree as a freshman. She enters the BIG EAST Championship ranked among league leaders in scoring (7th-15.7 ppg), three-point field goals per game (8th-1.79 pg) and field goal percentage (12th-.426).

Rubino earned her first postseason recognition on the 10-member second team. Ranked among the league's top 20 scorers and top three-point shooters all season, she is third on DePaul's roster with 12.4 points per game. The junior guard has hit 42 three's this season and leads the Blue Demons with 30.0 minutes per game.

Pondexter was a unanimous choice by the league's 16 coaches for Player of the Year and was joined on the league honor roll by Freshman of the Year Renee Montgomery of Connecticut and St. John's Kim Barnes Arico as Coach of the Year. Connecticut's Mel Thomas picked up Most Improved Player honors while Carolyn Kieger of Marquette won the Sportsmanship Award and Notre Dame's Megan Duffy was named the BIG EAST/Aeropostale Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

DePaul opens BIG EAST Championship play on Sunday night in the quarterfinals. The third-seeded Blue Demons await the winner of the No. 6 Pittsburgh-No. 11 Cincinnati game for an 8 p.m. contest on Sunday. The Panthers and Bearcats clash in the first round on Saturday at 8 p.m.

We Are DePaul Top Stories