DePaul Women's Hoops Awards Banquet Winners

CHICAGO – The DePaul women's basketball team celebrated the 2005-06 season at the DePaul Athletic Center on Wednesday evening with the program's annual awards banquet. Khara Smith was named MVP as she concluded her DePaul career as the all-time leading rebounder and the program's only three-time All-American.

Seniors Jarietta Benton, Lauren Levine, Suzanne Morrison, Khara Smith and Claudette Towers were awarded with the Maggie Dixon Captain's Award. The award is named after the former assistant at DePaul that passed away in April 2006.

The individual statistical awards were passed out to the top free throw and three-point shooters, the assist leader and the best rebounder. Allie Quigley, Jenna Rubino and Caprice Smith shared the three-point award while Quigley also garnered the free throw award. Claudette Towers earned the assist award with a team-high 112 helpers in 2005-06 while Khara Smith's 385 rebounds were recognized with the rebound award. Smith's 385 boards mark the second-highest single-season rebound total in school history. Diana Vines set the record in 1986-87 with 397 rebounds.

Rubino was honored with the Blue Demon Iron Woman Award for her all-around play throughout the season. She led DePaul with 29.9 minutes per game and played at least 35 minutes in 11 games last season.

Caprice Smith was named the Most Improved Player and shared the Unsung Hero Award with Erin Carney. The Pat Ewers Award for Courage was given to Ciara Johnson, who battled injuries throughout the season. Towers and Rachael Carney picked up the Cookie Gavin Coach's Award. Gavin played on DePaul's first women's basketball teams in the mid-1970's.

The Shirley Becker Academic Award, named for the former Athletics Academic Advisor, was awarded to Rachael Carney, Erin Cattell, Lauren Levine and Allie Quigley.

DePaul returns 10 players next season from the 2005-06 squad that posted a 27-7 record and made the program's first NCAA Sweet Sixteen appearance. The 27 victories tied the single-season school record set by the 1987-88 squad.

We Are DePaul Top Stories