DePaul Announces Men's Basketball Schedule

Blue Demons will have 15 home games, play 18 BIG EAST Conference contests and travel to San Juan during the 2007-08 season.

CHICAGO - DePaul will play 15 home games, 18 BIG EAST Conference contests and travel to Kansas and San Juan, Puerto Rico during the 2007-08 season it was announced today by Blue Demon head coach Jerry Wainwright.

"Once again this season, The BIG EAST Conference will be the premier basketball conference in the country and with the new 18-game league schedule, it is evident that we will be tested each and every time we step on the floor," Wainwright said. "We've again scheduled challenging non-conference opponents in the hope that it will serve as good preparation for league play."

Wainwright's squad will play 18 games against teams that reached postseason tournament play a year ago including 12 that reached the NCAA Tournament.

DePaul opens the 2007-08 season on the road at Creighton (November 9) before returning home to host four straight contests at the Allstate Arena (Northwestern - November 17, North Carolina A&T - November 24, and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi - November 28.

The Blue Demons travel to Kansas on December 8 before returning home to face Vanderbilt (December 12) and UIC (December 15).

For the second straight year the Blue Demons will leave the mainland for a tournament as they play in the San Juan Shootout December 20-22. The tournament opens against Mississippi before a date with Clemson and concludes against La Salle. The non-conference portion of the slate winds up with a trip to Detroit on December 29.

For the first time in four years the Blue Demons will open the conference portion of the season at home, and for the first time ever, will have three straight at home to open league play. The first of 18 BIG EAST Conference contests will bring Villanova to the Allstate Arena on January 3 followed by dates with Providence (January 5) and Georgetown (January 8). DePaul's first league road game will be on January 12 when it travels to Carnesecca Arena in Queens to face St. John's. January concludes with trips to Villanova at the Pavilion (January 16) and Marquette (January 26) along with home games against Rutgers (January 19) and Syracuse (January 30).

February starts with consecutive road games at Notre Dame (February 2) and Providence (February 5). DePaul then entertains USF (February 9) and Louisville (February 12). A road swing to Connecticut in Hartford (February 19) and Seton Hall (February 23) takes place before West Virginia invades the Allstate Arena to conclude the month on February 27.

The regular season will wrap up with three contests in March including the final home game of the season when Notre Dame comes to town on March 2 for Senior Day. Road trips to Cincinnati (March 6) and Pittsburgh (March 9) round out the regular season.

The annual BIG EAST Conference Tournament at Madison Square Garden takes place March 12-15 and once again this season the top 12 teams will advance to New York.

2007-08 DePaul Men's Basketball Schedule

Date Day Opponent Site CST TV Radio

Nov. 9 Fri. at Creighton Omaha, Neb. 7:00 p.m.

Nov. 17 Sat. Northwestern Allstate Arena 1:00 p.m.

Nov. 24 Sat. North Carolina A&T Allstate Arena 1:00 p.m.

Nov. 28 Wed. Texas A&M - C.C. Allstate Arena 7:30 p.m.

Dec. 8 Sat. at Kansas Lawrence, Kan. 1:00 p.m. ESPN

Dec. 12 Wed. Vanderbilt Allstate Arena 7:30 p.m.

Dec. 15 Sat. UIC Allstate Arena 7:30 p.m.

San Juan Shootout

Dec. 20 Thu. vs. Mississippi San Juan, Puerto Rico 4:30 p.m.

Dec. 21 Fri. vs. Clemson San Juan, Puerto Rico 2:00 p.m.

Dec. 22 Sat. vs. La Salle San Juan, Puerto Rico 2:00 p.m.

Dec. 29 Sat. at Detroit Detroit, Mich. 3:00 p.m.

Jan. 3 Thu. Villanova* Allstate Arena 8:00 p.m. ESPN2

Jan. 5 Sat. Providence* Allstate Arena

tba Jan. 8 Tue. Georgetown* Allstate Arena tba

Jan. 12 Sat. at St. John's* Queens, N.Y. tba

Jan. 16 Wed. at Villanova* Philadelphia, Pa. tba

Jan. 19 Sat. Rutgers Allstate Arena tba

Jan. 21 Mon. Florida Gulf Coast Allstate Arena tba

Jan. 26 Sat. at Marquette* Milwaukee, Wis. Tba

Jan. 30 Wed. Syracuse* Allstate Arena tba

Feb. 2 Sat. at Notre Dame* South Bend, Ind. Tba

Feb. 5 Tue. at Providence* Providence, R.I. tba

Feb. 9 Sat. USF* Allstate Arena tba

Feb. 12 Tue. Louisville* Allstate Arena tba

Feb. 19 Tue. at Connecticut* Hartford, Conn. Tba

Feb. 23 Sat. at Seton Hall* East Rutherford, N.J. tba

Feb. 27 Wed. West Virginia* Allstate Arena 8:00 p.m. ESPN2

Mar. 2 Sun. Notre Dame* Allstate Arena tba

Mar. 6 Thu. at Cincinnati* Cincinnati, Ohio tba

Mar. 9 Sun. at Pittsburgh* Pittsburgh, Pa. tba

BIG EAST Conference Tournament

Mar. 12 Wed. First Round New York, N.Y. tba

Mar. 13 Thu. Quarterfinals New York, N.Y. tba

Mar. 14 Fri. Semifinals New York, N.Y. tba

Mar. 15 Sat. Finals New York, N.Y. tba

* BIG EAST Conference Game

All game times are subject to change.

2007-08 DePaul Men's Basketball Schedule


We Are DePaul Top Stories