DePaul Learns 2008-09 Big East Hoops Matchups

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The BIG EAST Conference has announced the league opponents and game sites for its men's basketball teams for the 2008-09 regular season and DePaul will have three new home and home opponents.

In 2008-09, the BIG EAST will once again play an 18-game conference schedule, in which teams face 12 opponents once and three teams twice. It will mark the second year of the 18-game schedule, which began last season. All 144 regular-season conference games will once again be televised, either by CBS Sports, the ESPN family of networks or ESPN Regional Television.

DePaul will face Marquette, Pittsburgh and USF twice during the 2008-09 season along with hosting Cincinnati, Connecticut, Notre Dame, St. John's, Seton Hall and Villanova.

Along with the "two-play" opponents, the Blue Demons will travel to Georgetown, Louisville, Providence, Rutgers, Syracuse and West Virginia.

In the first year of the 18-game conference schedule, the BIG EAST tied its own NCAA record by placing eight schools into the NCAA tournament. At least one preseason ranking for 2008-09 lists three BIG EAST teams among the national top five, five among the top 15 and seven among the top 25.

The decisions regarding repeat opponents are based on natural interest, geography, rivalries, television contractual obligations and competitive balance.

The full 2008-09 conference schedule with dates and television outlets will be announced at a later date.

We Are DePaul Top Stories