DePaul Announces Men's Basketball Schedule

CHICAGO - DePaul will open BIG EAST Conference play by hosting long-time rival Notre Dame on New Year's Eve as the conference portion of the schedule was released today.

Complete game times and broadcast outlets will be announced at a later date.

"The Big East Conference is the premier basketball league in the country and this season it will be the toughest it has ever been," Blue Demon Head Coach Jerry Wainwright said. "We are excited about the challenge our conference schedule poses for our young team."

After facing the Fighting Irish on New Year's Eve at the Allstate Arena, the Blue Demons will open January with road games at Providence on the 3rd and Syracuse on the 7th before returning to Rosemont to host USF on the 10th and Cincinnati on the 17th. A return date with USF in Tampa on the 21st and a trip to Marquette on the 24th take place before Connecticut comes to Rosemont on the 28th. The month concludes with DePaul venturing to Rutgers on the 31st.

February opens with Marquette's return to Rosemont on the 3rd to open a three-game homestand that also includes visits from Pittsburgh on the 7th and Seton Hall on the 10th. Road trips to Louisville on the 15th and Pittsburgh on the 21st precede visits from Villanova on the 25th and St. John's, for the final home game of the season, on the 28th.

For the second straight year DePaul will conclude the regular season in March with two road games beginning with a trip to West Virginia on the 4th and ending by traveling to Georgetown on the 7th.

The newly-expanded BIG EAST Tournament will take place at Madison Square Garden on March 10-14.

The non-conference portion of the schedule was announced on July 16 and has DePaul opening the 2008-09 season November 17th at McGrath Arena when Albany visits the Blue Demons. The game, which will not be included on DePaul's season ticket plan, will be the first at McGrath Arena since the Blue Demons beat Hofstra, 83-71, in the opening round of the NIT on March 14, 2006. The last time DePaul played a regular season game on the Lincoln Park campus was a 105-61 victory over Howard in the final game at Alumni Hall on November 20, 1999.

After a trip to UIC on November 22nd, the month concludes with a pair of home games beginning with Detroit on the 26th in the opening contest of DePaul's 28th season in Rosemont and Indiana State on the 29th.

December opens with road games at California on the 3rd and Northwestern on the 6th. A home game with Morgan State on the 10th precedes a trip to the Honda Center in Anaheim, Calif. on the 13th to face UCLA in the annual Wooden Classic.

The Blue Demons return home to host a pair of games at the Allstate Arena in the Las Vegas Classic against Liberty on the 17th and Southern on the 19th. DePaul then goes to Las Vegas to face Saint Louis on the 22nd and facing either Creighton or Fresno State on the 23rd.

The non-conference portion of the season concludes with a visit from Alcorn State on the 28th.

Date Day Opponent Site Time TV/Radio

Nov. 7 Fri. Lewis (exhibition) McGrath Arena 7:00 p.m. tba

Nov. 17 Mon. Albany McGrath Arena 7:30 p.m. tba

Nov. 22 Sat. at UIC Chicago, Ill. 7:00 p.m. tba

Nov. 26 Wed. Detroit Allstate Arena 7:30 p.m. tba

Nov. 29 Sat. Indiana State Allstate Arena 1:00 p.m. tba

Dec. 3 Wed. at California Berkeley, Calif. tba tba

Dec. 6 Sat. at Northwestern Evanston, Ill. 1:00 p.m. tba

Dec. 10 Wed. Morgan State Allstate Arena 7:30 p.m. tba

Wooden Classic Dec. 13 Sat. vs. UCLA Anaheim, Calif. tba tba

Las Vegas Classic Dec. 17 Wed. Liberty Allstate Arena 7:30 p.m. tba

Dec. 19 Fri. Southern Allstate Arena 7:30 p.m. tba

Dec. 22 Mon. Saint Louis Las Vegas, Nev. 7:00 p.m. tba

Dec. 23 Tue. Creighton/Fresno State Las Vegas, Nev. 7/9:30 p.m. tba

Dec. 28 Sun. Alcorn State Allstate Arena 1:00 p.m. tba

Dec. 31 Wed. Notre Dame* Allstate Arena tba ESPN2

Jan. 3 Sat. at Providence* Providence, R.I. tba tba

Jan. 7 Wed. at Syracuse* Syracuse, N.Y. tba tba

Jan. 10 Sat. USF* Allstate Arena tba tba

Jan. 17 Sat. Cincinnati* Allstate Arena tba tba

Jan. 21 Wed. at USF* Tampa, Fla. tba tba tba

Jan. 24 Sat. at Marquette* Milwaukee, Wis. tba ESPN2

Jan. 28 Wed. Connecticut* Allstate Arena tba tba

Jan. 31 Sat. at Rutgers* Piscataway, N.J. tba tba

Feb. 3 Tue. Marquette* Allstate Arena tba tba

Feb. 7 Sat. Pittsburgh* Allstate Arena tba tba

Feb. 10 Tue. Seton Hall* Allstate Arena tba tba

Feb. 15 Sun. at Louisville* Louisville, Ky. tba tba

Feb. 21 Sat. at Pittsburgh* Pittsburgh, Pa. tba tba

Feb. 25 Wed. Villanova* Allstate Arena tba tba

Feb. 28 Sat. St. John's* Allstate Arena tba tba

Mar. 4 Wed. at West Virginia* Morgantown, W.Va. tba tba

Mar. 7 Sat. at Georgetown* Washington, D.C. tba tba

Big East Tournament

Mar. 10 Tue. First Round New York, N.Y. tba tba

Mar. 11 Wed. Second Round New York, N.Y. tba tba

Mar. 12 Thu. Quarterfinals New York, N.Y. tba tba

Mar. 13 Fri. Semifinals New York, N.Y. tba tba

Mar. 14 Sat. Championship New York, N.Y. 8:00 p.m. ESPN

We Are DePaul Top Stories