DePaul to Face Northern Iowa in Paradise Jam

The Blue Demons will travel to the U.S. Virgin Islands for the 2009 Paradise Jam men's basketball tournament in November, where they will take on the Northern Iowa Panthers in the opening round.

The Blue Demons and Panthers will open the Paradise Jam tournament on Friday, Nov. 20 at 2 p.m. AST.

Joining DePaul in the tournament are Boston College, East Carolina, Northern Iowa, Purdue, Saint Joseph's, South Dakota State and Tennessee. The Blue Demons take on either the Tennessee Volunteers or the East Carolina Pirates on the second day of action.

The eight-team field features four teams that earned berths in the NCAA tournament field last season. Purdue reached the Sweet Sixteen while Boston College, Northern Iowa and Tennessee all lost their first-round games.

All game times are Atlantic Standard Time (AST) which is two hours ahead of Chicago's Central Standard Time zone.

The second day of action on Nov. 21 features two games with teams that lost in the first round followed by two winner's bracket games on Nov. 22. The last day of games returns to the four-game format capped by the championship game at 9:30 p.m. AST.

The 2009 Paradise Jam will be played at the University of the Virgin Islands Sports and Fitness Center in Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas.

At least four of the games will be broadcast nationally by Fox Sports.

The Connecticut Huskies claimed the 2008 Paradise Jam title with a win over Wisconsin in the title game.

2009 Paradise Jam Pairings

Friday, Nov. 20
Game 1 – DePaul vs. Northern Iowa (2 p.m. AST/Noon CST)
Game 2 – Tennessee vs. East Carolina (4:30 p.m. AST/2:30 p.m. CST)
Game 3 – Boston College vs. Saint Joseph's (7 p.m. AST/5 p.m. CST)
Game 4 – Purdue vs. South Dakota State (9:30 p.m. AST/7:30 p.m. CST)

Saturday, Nov. 21
Game 5 – Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 2 (7 p.m. AST/5 p.m. CST)
Game 6 – Loser of Game 3 vs. Loser of Game 4 (9:30 p.m. AST/7:30 p.m. CST)

Sunday, Nov. 22
Game 7 – Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2 (7 p.m. AST/5 p.m. CST)
Game 8 – Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 4 (9:30 p.m. AST/7:30 p.m. CST)

Monday, Nov. 23
Game 9 – Loser of Game 5 vs. Loser of Game 6 (2 p.m. AST/Noon CST)
Game 10 – Winner of Game 5 vs. Winner of Game 6 (4:30 p.m. AST/2:30 p.m. CST)
Game 11 – Loser of Game 7 vs. Loser of Game 8 (7 p.m. AST/5 p.m. CST)
Game 12 – Winner of Game 7 vs. Winner of Game 8 (9:30 p.m. AST/7:30 p.m. CST)


We Are DePaul Top Stories