Duke To Face Tennessee In Maui

The Blue Devils will face off against the Volunteers in the opening round of the Maui Shootout the school announced on Thursday.

DURHAM, N.C. - The EA SPORTS Maui Invitational, hosted by Chaminade University, announced on Thursday the bracket for the 28th edition of Basketball In Paradise with Duke facing Tennessee at 5:30 pm (ET) on Nov. 21 in championship round action. The bracket includes a new format, which reflects the tournament's first expansion since 1986.

Duke is a perfect 12-0 all-time in the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational, winning titles in 1992, 1997, 2001 and 2007. Four Blue Devils have earned MVP honors at the tournament, including associate head coach Steve Wojciechowski, who took home the honors in 1997.

The winner of the Duke-Tennessee game faces the winner of the Michigan-Memphis game in the semifinals of the tournament. The other side of the bracket features matchups of UCLA vs. Chaminade and Georgetown vs. Kansas. The ESPN networks will combine once again to offer live television coverage of all 12 Championship Round games. For the third straight year, every game will be produced in high definition on ESPN HD, ESPN2 HD and ESPNU HD, with the ESPN and ESPN2 games also streaming live on ESPN3.com.

"We are excited to kickoff the expansion with such stellar matchups," Tournament Chairman David Odom said. "Expanding the Tournament provides more student-athletes, schools and conferences the chance to show their best at the premier early-season college basketball tournament."

The bracket format includes the traditional eight-team, three-day event played at Maui's oceanfront Lahaina Civic Center during Thanksgiving week, which will now be known as the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational "Championship Round," and the eight participating teams playing in the Championship Round are called the "Island Teams".

With expansion comes four additional Division I teams known as the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational "Mainland Teams." Each of the eight Island Teams (excluding Chaminade) will play one game against a Mainland Team - seven games in total - before traveling to Maui for the Championship Round. The Mainland Teams will then play each other in the "Regional Games" - a four-game event.

The eight Island Teams that will play in the Opening Games and Championship Round: Duke, Georgetown, Kansas, Memphis, Michigan, Tennessee, UCLA and host Chaminade.

The four Mainland Teams that will play in the Opening Games and Regional Games: Belmont, Middle Tennessee State, Towson and UNCG.


Opening Games
Teams: Island and Mainland Teams
Dates: Nov. 11, 14-15, 2011
Locations: Island Teams' home arenas
Details: Prior to traveling to Maui for the Championship Round, each Island Team (excluding Chaminade) will host one home game against one Mainland Team. There will be seven Opening Games

Regional Games
Teams: Mainland Teams
Dates: Nov. 19-20, 2011
Location: Murphy Center (at MTSU)
Details: After the Opening Games, the four Mainland Teams will play in a two-day, four-game event. The location of the Regional Games will change annually.

Championship Round
Teams: Island Teams
Dates: Nov. 21-23, 2011
Location: Lahaina Civic Center, Maui, HI
Details: After the Opening Games and Regional Games, the Championship Round takes place. Per usual, it will take place during the three days prior to Thanksgiving.

Tournament Facts
In all, 89 schools representing 21 conferences and 39 states have competed in the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational, with Maui participants having won an astounding 62 of 73 NCAA championships and 58 of 73 national runner-up spots while comprising 239 of 292 Final Four teams.

Blue Devil Digest Top Stories