Ingram and Allen Earn Post Season Honors

Grayson Allen and Brandon Ingram earned all-conference honors over the weekend with Ingram also being name the ACC's Rookie of the Year.

From Duke Sports Information...

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Duke’s Grayson Allen and Brandon Ingram were both honored as All-ACC selections, while Ingram was also recognized as 2016 ACC Rookie of the Year, on Sunday when the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA) announced its 2016 men’s basketball awards.

Allen was named first-team All-ACC by ACSMA on Sunday, while the organization named Ingram to its second team in addition to honoring him as Freshman of the Year and a unanimous ACC All-Freshman Team selection.

Duke has now had at least one All-ACC selection every year since 1975, a streak of 42 consecutive seasons. Head coach Mike Krzyzewski and the Duke program have produced at least one first-team All-ACC selection in 19 of the last 20 seasons. Ingram is the 11th Duke player to be named All-ACC as a freshman, and the program’s fifth freshman to earn the acclaim since 2012.

Allen leads Duke and ranks fifth among major-conference players in scoring with an average of 21.5 points per game. His +17.1-point scoring improvement from a year ago is on pace to set a new ACC record for year-to-year scoring increase. He has scored in double figures 29 times in 31 games this season, including 16 20-point efforts and four games with more than 30 points.

He is currently on a steak of 20 consecutive games with double-figure points and was not held to fewer than 15 points in 18 regular-season ACC games this season.

Allen is shooting 47.5 percent from the floor, a team-high 42.3 percent from three-point range and 83.0 percent from the free throw line. He averages 4.5 rebounds to go along with team highs of 3.5 assists and 1.3 steals per contest. Allen is averaging 35.9 minutes per game this season, and has played 1,114 minutes through 31 games.

Allen is on pace to be just the ninth Duke player to lead the Blue Devils in both scoring and assists in the same season, as well as just the seventh Duke player to average better than 20 points per game and hand out 100 assists in a season.

Allen averages 6.8 free throw attempts per game this season and has scored 26.4 percent of his points this season from the free throw line, the highest percentage for a Duke leading scorer since Jim Spanarkel scored 31.1 percent of his points from the line during the 1977-78 season.

A psychology major from Jacksonville, Fla., Allen was honored as a second-team CoSIDA Academic All-American on March 3. He has also been named a finalist for both the John R. Wooden Award and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, awarded to the National Player of the Year by the USBWA.

Ingram is the ninth Duke player to be named ACC Freshman of the Year, and the third in a row after Jabari Parker earned the honor in 2014 and Jahlil Okafor brought the trophy home in 2015. Duke’s three-year run marks just the third time in ACC history that a program has produced at least three consecutive ACC Freshman of the Year honorees.

He is also Duke’s fourth ACC Freshman of the Year in the last five years, as Austin Rivers won the award in 2012.

The only unanimous selection on this year’s ACC All-Freshman Team, Ingram is the 22nd Duke player to be named to the squad. He is also the program’s sixth ACC All-Freshman Team selection in the last five years.

Ingram is averaging 16.7 points, 6.8 rebounds and 1.4 blocks in 33.9 minutes per game this season. He is shooting 44.4 percent from the floor and 40.0 percent from three-point territory.

The Kinston, N.C., native is on pace to become the fourth freshman to average at least 15.0 points and 5.0 rebounds per game under Duke head coach Mike Krzyzewski, alongside Luol Deng (2004), Okafor (2015) and Parker (2014). His average of 16.7 points per game this season is the third-highest among major-conference freshmen.

He leads ACC freshmen in scoring (16.7), rebounds (6.8), three-point field goal percentage (.400) and double-doubles (8), while also ranking second among conference freshmen in blocks (1.4). Overall, he stands at seventh in the conference in scoring, ninth in three-point percentage, blocks and minutes played (33.90), and 14th in rebounds.

Ingram’s eight double-doubles on the season are the fifth-most by a freshman in Duke history, and his 10 20-point games are tied for the fourth-most ever by a Duke rookie. He has three 20/10 games this season, and is the lone ACC freshman to record one.

One of the nation’s most versatile players, Ingram is the first freshman and only the second player – along with Shane Battier – in Duke history to make at least 60 three-pointers (66) and block at least 40 shots (44) in the same season. His 66 three-pointers on the season are the third-most by a freshman in Duke history.

Ingram has also been named one of five finalists for the Wayman Tisdale Award, which is presented annually to the National Freshman of the Year by the USBWA.

The No. 5 seed in the 2016 ACC Tournament, Duke will face either NC State or Wake Forest at 2 p.m. ET on Wednesday at Verizon Center. The game will be televised by both ESPN and the ACC Network, and the Blue Devil IMG Sports Network will have the radio call.

2016 ACSMA All-ACC Teams
First Team
Brice Johnson, North Carolina
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Cat Barber, NC State
Grayson Allen, Duke
Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson

Second Team
Michael Gbinije, Syracuse
Sheldon McClellan, Miami
Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame
Brandon Ingram, Duke
Damion Lee, Louisville

Third Team
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Georgia Tech
Anthony Gill, Virginia
Zach Auguste, Notre Dame
Michael Young, Pittsburgh
Angel Rodriguez, Miami

Honorable Mention
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
Tonye Jekiri, Miami
Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech
Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
London Perrantes, Virginia
Devin Thomas, Wake Forest.

All-ACC Freshman Team
Brandon Ingram, Duke
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State
Malik Beasley, Florida State
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse
Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest

All-ACC Defensive Team
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Tonye Jekiri, Miami
Michael Gbinije, Syracuse
Landry Nnoko, Clemson
Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville

ACC Player of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year: Brandon Ingram, Duke

ACC Coach of the Year: Jim Larrañaga, Miami

ACC Defensive Player of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

ACC Most Improved Player of the Year: Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson

ACC Sixth Man of the Year: Isaiah Hicks, North Carolina


Blue Devil Digest Top Stories