New ACC Divisions Announced

Greensboro, N.C. - The institutions of the Atlantic Coast Conference unveiled the future 12-member Atlantic Coast Conference seal and divisional names that will take effect July 1, 2005, as announced by Commissioner John Swofford.

Duke will be in the Coastal Division along with Georgia Tech, Miami, North Carolina, Virginia and Virginia Tech. Duke will be matched-up with Wake Forest from the Atlantic Division, meaning they will face each other every year as will everybody within the Coastal Division. The remaining two ACC games each year will rotate between the remaining five teams from the Atlantic Division.

"The seal and divisional names adopted by our schools really embrace the geography of the ACC while maintaining its heritage," stated Swofford. "The new look of our seal projects the fact that our conference truly encompasses the `Atlantic Coast'."

The ACC seal was designed by Steve Luquire of Luquire-George-Andrews, an advertising agency in Charlotte, N.C.

A listing of the ACC divisions is as follows, along with each team's match-up from the opposing division:

Boston College (Virginia Tech)
Clemson (Georgia Tech)
Florida State (Miami)
Maryland (Virginia)
N.C. State (North Carolina)
Wake Forest (Duke)

Duke (Wake Forest)
Georgia Tech (Clemson)
Miami (Florida State)
North Carolina (N.C. State)
Virginia (Maryland)
Virginia Tech (Boston College)

The Devils Den Top Stories