Annual Team Banquet A Success

Senior Daniel Ewing along with juniors J.J. Redick and Shelden Williams shared the Swett-Baylin Award as Duke's Most Valuable Player at the Blue Devils' annual men's basketball banquet Thursday night at Cameron Indoor Stadium. <br><br>

The trio combined to average 52.6 points, 17.7 rebounds, 7.5 assists and 4.3 steals per game while leading Duke to the ACC Championship and an eighth consecutive NCAA Tournament Sweet 16 appearance. Redick, the Rupp National Player of the Year, also received the Iron Dukes Award (Most Minutes Played), the Captains' Award and Best Free Throw Percentage Award. He was also a consensus first team All-America selection, the ACC Player of the Year and the ACC Tournament Most Valuable Player. Williams, the NABC National Defensive Player of the Year and AP third team All-America selection, collected Best Field Goal Percentage, Best Rebounding Average and Best Defensive Player awards at Thursday's banquet. Ewing, who closed his career with 115 victories and a 56-2 mark at Cameron Indoor Stadium, also claimed the Captains' Award and the Most Assists Award.

Senior Reggie Love, a member of Duke's 2001 National Championship team, received the Captains' Award. Love joined the team in October after attending training camp for the NFL's Green Bay Packers. Joe Pagliuca, a sophomore walk-on, was given the Dr. Deryl Hart Award as the team's top scholar-athlete, while Patrick Davidson and Patrick Johnson each received the Coach's Award as players exemplifying the commitment and values of Duke Basketball.

Junior Shavlik Randolph took home the True Blue Award for most charges taken (22) for the second straight year, while the Glenn E. "Ted" Mann, Jr., Award, honoring the Duke reserve contributing most to team morale, was given to junior Lee Melchionni.

Duke also honored six seniors (Brian DeStefano, Mike Egan, Josh Makaron, Mike Morrell, Charlie Rohlf and Thayer Swallen) with the Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award. Amanda Cole was honored with the Harry Rainey Outstanding Cheerleader Award and Laurel Cooper took home the Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award.

Duke finished the season with a 27-6 overall record (11-5 in ACC play), the ninth ACC Championship in 25 seasons under Mike Krzyzewski and a final No. 7 national ranking in the ESPN/USA Today Coaches poll. Ranked No. 3 in the final Associated Press poll, it marked the ninth consecutive season that Duke finished the season ranked among the nation's top 10 teams.

2004-05 Duke Men's Basketball Award Winners

Swett-Baylin Award (Most Valuable Player): J.J. Redick, Daniel Ewing and Shelden Williams
Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete): Joe Pagliuca Glenn E. "Ted" Mann, Jr., Award (Reserve Contributing Most to Team Morale): Lee Melchionni
Coach's Award (Player Exemplifying the Commitment and Values of Duke Basketball): Patrick Davidson and Patrick Johnson
Iron Dukes Award (Most Minutes Played): J.J. Redick
True Blue Award (Most Charges Taken): Shavlik Randolph
Captains' Awards: Daniel Ewing, Reggie Love and J.J. Redick
Best Field Goal Percentage Award: Shelden Williams
Best Rebounding Average Award: Shelden Williams
Best Free Throw Percentage Award: J.J. Redick
Most Assists Award: Daniel Ewing
Best Defensive Player Award: Shelden Williams
Senior Manager Award: Brian DeStefano, Mike Egan, Josh Makaron, Mike Morrell, Charlie Rohlf and Thayer Swallen Harry Rainey Outstanding Cheerleader Award: Amanda Cole
Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award: Laurel Cooper

Blue Devil Digest Top Stories