A-10 Announces New Staff Additions

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - Atlantic 10 commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade today announced the hiring of Jill Redmond as director of compliance and Melissa Kristofak as associate director of communications.

"We are fortunate that Jill and Melissa are joining the A-10 staff. Both are experienced professionals who will be an asset to serving our membership," says commissioner McGlade.

Redmond's responsibilities at the A-10 will include serving as the primary liaison to the member institutions for NCAA and Atlantic 10 Conference governance, legislation, and rules education. In addition, Jill will be responsible for all duties related to the National Letter of Intent program, NCAA coaches' certification program, and student-athlete services. Redmond will also serve as the A-10 liaison to the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and work with various conference committees.

Redmond joins the Conference from the University of Richmond, where she served as assistant athletic director/compliance. In that capacity, Redmond coordinated the admissions process and administered the National Letters of Intent program; developed and administered a comprehensive rules education program; monitored departmental practices and policies to ensure rules compliance; and served as the athletic department's liaison with the financial aid, registrar and undergraduate admissions offices. Prior to joining the staff at Richmond, Redmond served since 2005 as assistant athletic director/compliance at Dartmouth. She also spent eight years at Benedictine University, beginning in 2000 as head women's athletic trainer, before being elevated to senior woman administrator/assistant athletic director in June 2004.

A 1995 graduate of DePaul who participated in track and field, Redmond earned her MBA from Benedictine in 2000. She is a member of the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators (NACWAA), the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and Black Coaches Association (BCA).

Kristofak will support in the coordination of the media and public relations efforts of the Conference. She will serve as the primary media contact of several sports and championship events, including women's basketball, and serve as the media coordinator of the Atlantic 10 Women's Basketball Championship. Kristofak will also support as a contributing features writer for the A-10 website - www.atlantic10.org - and coordinate the design and development of select publications.

Kristofak joins the A-10 after serving as the director of media relations at the Sun Belt Conference since July, 2008. At the Sun Belt, Kristofak was the primary media contact for five sports, including men's basketball, and was responsible for the design and layout of the league's championship programs. In addition, she oversaw media operations at league events and championships assisted in the daily maintenance of the league's website. Prior to her time at the Sun Belt, Kristofak served as director of partner sales & services for B2 Networks, a recognized leader in broadband broadcasting, and served director of athletic public relations at Virginia Commonwealth from 2005-07.

A 2001 graduate of Randolph-Macon with a degree in English and journalism, Kristofak earned a Masters of Exercise and Sport Science from Florida in 2003. She is currently a member of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

About the A-10

The Atlantic 10 Conference was formed in 1975, is currently comprised of 14 member institutions and sponsors 21 championship sports. The mission and goal of the Atlantic 10 is to preserve, protect, and enhance the academic and athletic excellence of our members. The conference is committed to upholding the highest ethical standards and providing equitable championship experiences for more than 6,000 student-athletes, coaches, and support staff. Approaching the 35th anniversary in 2010-11, as a Division I Conference, we salute the outstanding members and leaders that have helped build the foundation of the Atlantic 10. The member institutions of the Atlantic 10 are the University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, University of Massachusetts, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph's University, Saint Louis University, Temple University, and Xavier University.

DukesSports Top Stories