Brooks, Buckley On Hall of Fame Ballot

Two Florida State legends are on the College Football Hall of Fame Ballot.

Two of the all time great Seminoles will have a chance to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2016. Linebacker Derrick Brooks and cornerback Terrell Buckley will both be on the 2016 ballot.

Other big names such as Ray Lewis (Miami), Jerome Brown (Miami), Lomas Brown (Florida), Tim Couch (Kentucky), Eric Crouch (Nebraska), Eric Dickerson (SMU), Torry Holt (NC State), Matt Leinart (USC), Brian Urlacher (New Mexico), and Rod Woodson (Purdue) are also on the ballot

Derrick Brooks is already in the Pro Football Hall of Fame after 13 seasons with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Brooks finished his career at Florida State with multiple awards including being named a consensus All-American his junior and senior years. He finished his college career with 274 tackles and five interceptions and led the Seminoles to their first National Championship in 1993. He was a three time first-team All-ACC player. He was drafter 28th overall in the 1995 NFL Draft.

Terrell Buckley was one of the most accomplished defensive backs in Florida State history. He was a first-team All-American as a junior in 1991 and was awarded the Jim Thorpe award for the best defensive back in college football that year as well. He set the NCAA record for interception return yards and still holds the record for career interceptions with 21 despite only playing at Florida State for three years. He was the fifth overall pick in the 1992 draft by the Green Bay Packers. His interception against Michigan has gone down as one of the greatest plays in Florida State history.

Both players deserve to go into the College Football Hall of Fame. With a class this jam packed with deserving players it will be interesting to see who gets in, and who has to wait another year.

Nole Digest Top Stories