Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Former FSU Players Snubbed For PWFA Rookie Of The Year Awards

Jameis Winston and Ronald Darby were both snubbed for the Rookie of the Year Awards.

The Pro Football Writers of America announced their Rookies of the Year for the 2015-2016 season with running back Todd Gurley winning Offensive Rookie of the Year over Jameis Winston and Marcus Peters winning defensive rookie of the year over Ronald Darby.

Gurley ran for 1,106 yards and 10 touchdowns, but averaged just 4.8 yards per carry and only ran for more than 90 yards once in his last 8 games, and ran for more than 100 yards just five times all season. Winston finished the season with 4,042 passing yards, 22 touchdowns, and 13 interceptions. He became just the third rookie quarterback in NFL history to throw for more than 4,000 yards in a season. Winston was also tied for the team lead in rushing touchdowns with 6. 

Marcus Peters was boom or bust all season long. He led the NFL in interceptions with 8, but according to Pro Football Focus allowed the third most yards of any cornerback in the NFL with 939 and allowed the second most touchdowns in the league with 8. Darby, on the other hand, allowed just 4 touchdowns all season, allowed just 660 receiving yards, and was fifth among all cornerbacks in pass breakups with 13. What hinders Darby, at least in the eyes of the Rookie of the Year voters, is that he had just 2 interceptions on the year. 

Both Jameis Winston and Ronald Darby were named to the PWFA all rookie team where they were joined by former Florida State defensive tackle Eddie Goldman. 


Nole Digest Top Stories