FSU Softball Wins Third Straight ACC Title

Florida State defeated Notre Dame to win their third consecutive ACC Championship.

Florida State defeated Notre Dame 7-3 on Sunday to win their third straight ACC championship. It was the 15th ACC championship in Florida State softball history.

Jessica Warren got the Seminoles on the board in the bottom of the first with an RBI single. Notre Dame tied it up a 1 after an RBI single by Bailey Bigler in the top of the second. 

The Irish took a 2-1 lead in the third on a solo home run by Micaela Arizmendi in the third inning. Florida State immediately responded with four runs in the bottom half of the inning to take a 5-2 lead. Ellie Cooper got the Seminoles started with a solo home run, and two batters later Alex Powers added a 2-run home run of her own. Zoe Casas also added a solo home run. 

Casey Africo cut the Florida State lead to 5-3 with a solo home run in the top of the fourth, but Florida State got it right back on a Morgan Klaevemann RBI single, and added on with a bases loaded RBI walk by Sydney Broderick to make it 7-3.

Meghan King pitched a full seven innings for the Seminoles giving up 3 runs on 7 hits with no walks and 8 strikeouts. 

The Seminoles are now 48-8 on the season and 22-2 in the ACC. They are currently the No. 7 overall team in the RPI, and are likely to be a top-8 national seed. 

Nole Digest Top Stories