Scouting The Defensive Depth Chart

The has projected the most likely defensive depth chart for the beginning of two-a- days that starts in August based on several sources observations out of Tallahassee. There are a couple of surprised along the way.

Junior Broderick Bunkley and Senior Travis Johnson are in battle for the starting defensive tackle spot. Johnson has been plagued with injuries over his career and according some he lacks the work-ethic to be a difference maker. Word has it that the coaching staff is very high on sophomore nose guard Clifton Dickson and freshman tackle Chris Bradwell.

True junior Kamerion Wimbley will be the third defensive end in the rotation and he can play either the left and right spots. Sophomore Darrell Burston will be the fourth end in the rotation but he'll most likely be replaced by either sophomore Willie Jones or freshman Alex Boston in passing situations.

At strong-side linebacker (SAM) Ray Piquion gets the nod over the talented Sims because he's a senior and has a strong work ethic. However, Sims will see a lot of time on the field and he could eventually end up the starter before the end of the season.

Middle linebacker Buster Davis and Sam McGrew are still in a battle for the starting job. McGrew excels in goal line and short-yard situations. Davis strengths are in blitzing and coverage situations.

Cornerback Antonio Cromartie will be the third cornerback in the rotation and he could play both the right and left spots. Gerard Ross is the fourth corner in the rotation. However, nagging injuries has set his career back some and that fact could open the door for an incoming freshman.

Freshman Roger Williams filled in this spring at both rover and the strong safety position and he did an outstanding job. There's an excellent chance that he will see some time at both positions in the upcoming season.

Chauncey Davis  Charles Howard Broderick Bunkley Eric Moore 
Kamerion Wimbley Travis Johnson Clifton Dickson  Kamerion Wimbley
Ray Piquion  Buster Davis A.J. Nicholson 
Ernie Sims Sam McGrew Marcello Church
Barry Wright
LCB Rover Free Safety RCB
Bryant McFadden  Jerome Carter  B.J. Ward  Leroy Smith 
Gerard Ross Kyler Hall Pat Watkins Antonio Cromartie
Claudius Osei

Nole Digest Top Stories