ACC Releases Pre-Season TV Football Schedule

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Florida State's football games against Miami (ABC national), Clemson (ESPN national) and NC State (ESPN national) were announced today as part of the 2006 Atlantic Coast Conference pre-season television football schedule of 18 games comprising the first three weeks of the season and its ESPN Thursday night package.


ESPN is slated to televise nine games, while ESPN2 will carry two games, including Boston College at Central Michigan in the league's season opener on Thursday, August 31. ABC will air five games including the league's second annual ACC Football Championship game scheduled for Alltel Stadium on Saturday, Dec. 2. Lincoln Financial Sports/Raycom is slated to carry two conference games starting with the Duke at Wake Forest contest on September 9.

The ACC has three primetime national telecasts scheduled over the first three weekends of the season starting with Notre Dame at Georgia Tech on Sept. 2 (ABC; 8:00), Florida State at Miami, Sept. 3 (ABC; 8:00) and Clemson at Florida State, Sept. 16 (ESPN; 7:45).

After the weekend of September 16, ABC, ESPN and Lincoln Financial Sports (formerly Jefferson Pilot) / Raycom will make their weekly selections using a 12-day option.

The 2006 ACC pre-season television football schedule is as follows:

Thursday, August 31 Boston College at Central Michigan ESPN2 6 pm

Saturday, Sept. 2 Rutgers at North Carolina ABC 3:30 pm

Notre Dame at Georgia Tech ABC 8 pm

Monday, Sept. 4 Florida State at Miami ABC 8 pm

Saturday, Sept. 9 Clemson at Boston College ABC 3:30 pm

Virginia Tech at North Carolina ESPN 12 pm

Duke at Wake Forest LFS/Raycom 12 pm

Thursday, Sept. 14 Maryland at West Virginia ESPN 7:30 pm

Saturday, Sept. 16 Duke at Virginia Tech LFS/Raycom 12 pm

Brigham Young at Boston College ESPN2 12 pm

Clemson at Florida State ESPN 7:45 pm

Thursday, Sept. 21 Virginia at Georgia Tech ESPN 7:30 pm

Thursday, Oct. 5 Florida State at NC State ESPN 7:30 pm

Thursday, Oct. 12 Virginia Tech at Boston College ESPN 7:30 pm

Thursday, Oct. 19 North Carolina at Virginia ESPN 7:30 pm

Thursday, Oct. 26 Clemson at Virginia Tech ESPN 7:30 pm

Thursday, Nov. 23 Boston College at Miami ESPN 7:30 pm

Saturday, Dec. 2 Dr. Pepper ACC Football Championship ABC 1:00 p.m.

Nole Digest Top Stories