Brown named to Ted Hendricks Award Watch List

Seminole defensive end is one 36 pre-season candidates for the best defensive end award.

Chicago, IL – Florida State defensive end Everette Brown is one of 36 pre-season candidates for the Ted Hendericks Award, which is presented to the best defensive end in college football. Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), David Pollack (Georgia), Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), LaMarr Woodley (Michigan) and Chris Long (Virginia).

Brown enters 2008 poised for a breakout year after leading the team in sacks in 2007 despite starting only nine games. Already a nominee for the 2008 Bronko Nagurski Watch List, the junior is a member of the Blue Ribbon All-ACC preseason team. He was listed as a second team All-ACC preseason selection by Phil Steele and the Sporting News lists him as the fourth-best defensive lineman in the ACC. The North Carolina native was named FSU's most dependable player at defensive end following spring practice and he also won the "second effort" award for the defense. Brown was one of the top pass rushers in America among sophomores in 2007 and is already among the top 15 all-time at FSU for tackles for loss. He is the Seminoles top returner when it comes to both sacks and tackles for loss.

The Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American. As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Ted used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs. He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse, completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played. His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks' aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football's premier defensive end is presented.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate's primary position must be defensive end.

Nole Digest Top Stories