Rolle Named Top 15 Semifinalist For Bednarik

FSU's rover in the running to be named the best defensive player in college football.

Roslyn, Pa. – Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2008 Semifinalists for the 14th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. Seminole rover Myron Rolle is included among the fifteen candidates as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

Rolle is a junior from Galloway, NJ and has started 30 straight games since his true freshman season. The rover is second on the team with 43 tackles and leads FSU with five pass break-ups. Rolle has led the Seminoles in tackles twice this season and had one of the finest games by a safety in the Bobby Bowden era versus Miami. Versus the Hurricanes, Rolle broke up four passes, had three third down stops, a touchdown saving tackle, a QB hurry, a tackle for loss and a ½ sack. He is a key member of a Seminole defense that is fifth in the nation in total defense.

Rolle not only excels on the football field but his one of the top student-athletes in the nation. He completed his undergraduate coursework in just two and a half years and is now pursuing a master's degree. He is a finalist for the Rhodes Scholarship and also Florida State's nominee for the Marshall Scholarship.

The announcement of the winners of the Bednarik Award will be made during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday December 11, 2008. Three finalists for the award will be in attendance for the ESPN broadcast. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 6, 2009 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Voting for all three of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday November 5th and close on Sunday November 23rd. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player's school, position and class designated.

Semifinalists for the 14th Chuck Bednarik Award

Player School Pos. Class

Berry, Eric University of Tennessee S Soph.

Cody, Terrence University of Alabama NT JR

Follett, Zack University of California LB SR

Hughes, Jerry Texas Christian University DE JR

Jenkins, Malcolm Ohio State CB SR

Laurinaitis, James Ohio State LB SR

Maualuga, Rey University of Southern California LB SR

Maybin, Aaron Penn State University DE Soph.

McCoy, Gerald University of Oklahoma DT Soph.

McKillop, Scott University of Pittsburgh LB SR

Orakpo, Brian University of Texas DE SR

Rolle, Myron Florida State University S JR

Spikes, Brandon University of Florida LB JR

Walker, Vance Georgia Tech DT SR

Weatherspoon, Sean University of Missouri LB JR

Nole Digest Top Stories