Florida Pair Earn SEC Post-Graduate Scholarships

Florida men's basketball standout Matt Bonner and gymnastics All-American Lindsey Miner are among 24 student-athletes from the Southeastern Conference that have been selected as recipients of an SEC Post-graduate scholarship and are finalists for the H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year Award.

Each finalist will receive a $5,000 scholarship for post-graduate studies. The SEC Faculty Athletics Representatives Boy McWhorter Selection Committee will now choose an outstanding male and female student-athlete and each will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the ALLTEL Corporation.

Bonner, the two-time Verizon Academic All-American of the Year for men's basketball, helped the Gators to a 25-8 record in 2002-03 and the school's first No. 1 ranking in both major polls. Bonner led the Gators in scoring with 15.2 points per game and finished his career eighth on the Gators' all-time scoring list with 1,570 points.

A native of Concord, N.H., and a Business Administration major, Bonner earned First Team All-SEC honors from both the league coaches and the Associate Press this past season.

Miner helped the gymnastics team storm through the regular season with a school record 23-3 mark, as the Gators prepare for the SEC Championships in Birmingham, Ala., this weekend. Miner, a Zoology/Pre-Medicine major, was a 2002 All-American on vault, while earning a spot on the National Association of Collegiate Gymnastics Coaches (NACGC) Scholastic All-America team each of the past two years.

Miner, a native of Englewood, Colo., is currently second on the team with 14 individual titles this year.

Female Winners

School Name Sport

Alabama Kristin Sterner Gymnastics

Arkansas Libby Windell Volleyball

Auburn Celeste Troche Golf

Florida Lindsey Miner Gymnastics

Georgia Carolyn Cayard Soccer

Kentucky Simidele Adeagbo Track and Field

LSU Michelle Coryell Swimming and Diving

Ole Miss Lindsay Price Softball

Mississippi State Martha Hudsonpillar Track and Field

South Carolina Kanika McAlpine Soccer

Tennessee Kacey Montgomery Rowing

Vanderbilt Sarah Riske Tennis

Male Winners

Alabama Terrence Meade Basketball

Arkansas Daniel Lincoln Track and Field

Auburn Dontarrious Thomas Football

Florida Matt Bonner Basketball

Georgia Jon Stinchcomb Football

Kentucky Thomas Morgan Track and Field

LSU Martin Latz Swimming and Diving

Ole Miss Alex Hartman Tennis

Mississippi State Joey Collums Baseball

South Carolina Garry Martin Track and Field

Tennessee Kevin Thompson Track and Field

Vanderbilt Mike Martin Football

Fightin Gators Top Stories