Zunino Named SEC Player of the Year

It seemed inevitable as the conference season came to a close, but Florida catcher Mike Zunino was officially named SEC Player of the Year on Tuesday. He was the only Florida player to win one of the major awards, however, the Gators roster was well represented on the All-SEC list.

Zunino became the second Florida player to receive the award after current Cleveland Indians first baseman Matt LaPorta won it in 2005 and 2007.

Zunino was named to the First Team All-SEC, as were designated hitter Brian Johnson and outfielder Preston Tucker. The three players on the first team were the program's most recipients since 2008 when Josh Adams (2B), Matt den Dekker (OF) and Patrick Keating (RHP) were recognized.

Adams, shortstop Nolan Fontana and right-hander Hudson Randall were all named to the Second Team All-SEC.

It wasn't just the veteran players that were honored. Right-hander Karsten Whitson and third baseman Zack Powers were both named to the All-Freshman Team. Whitson was thought to be a favorite for the SEC Freshman of the Year award, but Vanderbilt outfielder and leadoff hitter Tony Kemp was given the honor.

Fontana was named to the SEC All-Defensive Team for the second straight year while Zunino was named to the team for the first time.

Vanderbilt left-hander Grayson Garvin was named SEC Pitcher of the Year, Arkansas catcher James McCann was named SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and South Carolina's Ray Tanner was named SEC Coach of the Year.

Fightin Gators Top Stories