Gators Place Six on Preseason All-SEC

The Gators placed six players on the Southeastern Conference Coaches Preseason All-SEC Teams, the league announced Thursday morning. Florida didn't put a player on the First Team, and the six players ranks as the seventh most of any school in the conference. The Gators put two players on offense, defense and special teams onto the All-SEC Teams.

Running back Jeff Demps was named to the Second Team. He has rushed for 1,901 yards and 17 touchdowns during his three seasons in Gainesville. Demps is coming off an injury plagued 2010 season where he still managed to lead the Gators in rushing (551), carries (92), yards per game (50.1) and all-purpose yards (927).

Kicker Caleb Sturgis received a medical redshirt last season, but he was still named to the Second Team. In 2009, Sturgis was a Lou Groza Award semifinalist, making 24-of-34 field goals, including a career-long of 56 yards. Sturgis is 65-of-70 in extra points during his career.

Linebackers Jon Bostic and Jelani Jenkins represent Florida on the Third Team. Bostic appeared in all 13 games for the Gators in 2010 and tied for third on the team with 57 tackles (36 solo and 21 assisted). He also had three interceptions, putting him eighth nationally among linebackers.

Jenkins was selected to the 2010 SEC All-Freshman team, recording 78 tackles, the most of any freshman in the SEC.

Trey Burton and Andre Debose were also placed on the Third Team. Burton was listed as the team's all-purpose player after scoring 12 touchdowns last season, including a six-touchdown game against Kentucky. Burton was also a member of the 2010 SEC All-Freshman Team and was twice the SEC Freshman of the Week.

Debose was named as the third-team return specialist after a redshirt freshman season that saw him return two kickoffs for touchdowns and averaged 28 yards per return.

Arkansas led the SEC with 14 selections on the three teams, while Alabama was the only other schools with double digits, placing 13. Georgia and South Carolina each put nine players on the three teams, while Auburn and LSU both put up seven.

Florida, Mississippi State and Auburn were the only schools not to put a player on the First Team.

Fightin Gators Top Stories