Starks On Outland Trophy Watch List

University of Florida offensive tackle<B> Max Starks</B> has been cited as a member of the Outland Trophy Watch List. The Football Writers Association of America presents the award for college football's top interior lineman.

Max Starks, a senior from Orlando, Fla., returns to the squad this season with 24 starts to his credit, which is tops among returning linemen.

The winner of the 2003 Outland Trophy will be announced Dec. 11 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla. Three finalists will be selected by the FWAA All-America Committee in late November and will appear on the show. The winner also will receive his trophy during a banquet on Jan. 8 in Omaha, Neb

The Outland Trophy annually goes to the nation's top interior lineman – tackles, centers, guards on offense or defense are eligible – in college football. The FWAA All-America Committee selects the winner with input from the membership.

Presented since 1946, the Outland is the third oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award. The award is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the century. Dr. Outland established the award in 1946, a year before his death, with the help of the FWAA. He believed it was important for lineman to receive greater recognition.



Tim Anderson, DL, Ohio State

Shawn Andrews, OT, Arkansas

Calvin Armstrong, OT, Washington St.

Jason Babin, DL, Western Michigan

Darnell Dockett, DT, Florida State

Nat Dorsey, OT, Georgia Tech

Rob Droege, OL, Missouri

Louis Gachelin, DT, Syracuse

Todd Ghilani, C, Northern Illinois

Jake Grove, C, Virginia Tech

Rex Hadnot, C, Houston

Tommie Harris, DT, Oklahoma

Joseph Hayes, OG, San Jose State

Howard Hodges, DL, Iowa

Trevor Hutton, OG, Utah State

Richie Incognito, C, Nebraska

Carlos Joseph, OT, Miami, Fla.

Jason Kaufusi, DL, Utah

Brandon Kennedy, DT, North Texas

Nick Leckey, OL, Kansas State

Logan Mankins, OT, Fresno State

Matt Martinez, C, Idaho

Nate McPeek, OL, Marshall

Shane Olivea, OT, Ohio State

Tony Pape, OT, Michigan

Rob Petitti, OT, Pittsburgh

Brady Poppinga, DL, BYU

Brian Rimpf, OT, East Carolina

Jacob Rogers, OT, USC

Darrion Scott, DL, Ohio State

Isaac Sopoaga,, DT, Hawaii

Max Starks, OT, Florida

Ben Stephens, C, Rice

Claude Terrell, OL, New Mexico

Marcus Tubbs, DT, Texas

Dan Weaver, C, Oregon

Fightin Gators Top Stories