Troupe Named To 2003 John Mackey Award Watch List

Florida senior tight end Ben Troupe was among those named as preliminary contenders by The Nassau County Sports Commission (NCSC) for the 2003 John Mackey Award honoring the Best Collegiate Tight End in Division I-A. The winner of the Award will be announced in early December and will receive his trophy at the NCSC's Annual Awards dinner in April of 2004.

Troupe, who has appeared in 26 games during his collegiate career with seven starts, has 25 receptions to his credit for 320 yards (12.8 avg.) while at Florida. A season ago, he caught the game-winning touchdown in the opening drive of the fourth quarter to help UF get by undefeated and fifth-ranked Georgia.

The 2002 winner, Dallas Clark, was selected in the first round of the 2003 NFL draft by the Indianapolis Colts.

The John Mackey Award was created by the NCSC under the guidance of board member Don McPherson, a Nassau County native and former NFL and Syracuse University All-American quarterback. Mackey, also a Nassau County native, is regarded as one of the best athletes to have played the position of tight end. In addition to being an NFL Hall of Famer, he is a Super Bowl winner (Baltimore, Super Bowl V) and was the first President of the NFLPA.

2003 John Mackey Award Watch List


Alex Holmes SR USC

Alex Smith JR Stanford

Andrew Clarke JR Toledo

Andy Roland SO Duke

Ben Troupe SR Florida

Ben Utecht SR Minnesota

Benjamin Watson SR Georgia

Bo Scaife SR Texas

Bobby Blizzard SR North Carolina

Brett Pierce SR Stanford

Brock Edwards SR Texas

Chris Cooley SR Utah State

Duncan Reid JR Fresno State

Eric Knott JR Michigan St.

Heath Miller SO Virginia

Jason Rader SR Marshall

Joel Dreessen JR Colorado St.

Kellen Winslow JR Miami (FL)

Kevin Zureki SR E. Michigan

Kris Wilson SR Pittsburgh

Robert Johnson SR Auburn

Tim Euhus SR Oregon State

Fightin Gators Top Stories