Florida Places Five on All-SEC Teams

The Gators placed four members on the All-SEC first team, while LSU was the only other school that placed even two on the group. Florida added one member on the second team and All-Freshman Team while placing Nolan Fontana and Mike Zunino on the All-Defensive Team. The Gators open the postseason by hosting Bethune-Cookman at 7 p.m. on Friday.

The four selections to the first team—catcher Mike Zunino, outfielder Preston Tucker, DH/utility player Brian Johnson and reliever Steven Rodriguez—matched the first time the Gators have placed four on the list since 1991. Nolan Fontana was placed on the second team to give the Gators five All-SEC selections.

This is the third straight year that Florida has placed five or more players on the list.

Fontana and Tucker earned their third All-SEC selections, joining Josh Adams, Mike Stanley, Marc Valdes and Brad Wilkerson as the only players in school history to accomplish that feat.

Fontana also earned his third straight year on the SEC All-Defensive Team while it was a second straight year on the list for Zunino. Fontana's three-year reign on the list ties former center fielder Matt den Dekker for the school record.

Third baseman Josh Tobias was the only Florida player chosen to the league's All-Freshman Team. This is the third straight year the Gators have had the third baseman on the All-Freshman team after Zack Powers earned the spot in 2011 and Austin Maddox won it in 2010.

LSU outfielder Raph Rhymes was named SEC Player of the Year while SEC Pitcher of the Year went to Mississippi State ace Chris Stratton. Kentucky took home two honors—SEC Freshman of the Year went to its center fiedler Austin Cousino and SEC Coach of the Year went to Gary Henderson.

Fightin Gators Top Stories