Muschamp named SEC co-Coach of the Year

After improving the Gators by five games from his first season to his second, Florida head coach Will Muschamp was named Southeastern Conference co-Coach of the Year, splitting the honor with Texas A&M coach Kevin Sumlin.

Will Muschamp is the first Florida coach to earn the award since Steve Spurrier won it in 1996. The five-game turnaround for the Gators served as the biggest jump in 32 years at Florida. Muschamp is the only first-time head coach at a BCS school to win 11 regular season games in his second season after finishing .500 of worse the previous season in records that date back to 1996.

Caleb Sturgis earned the co-Special Teams Player of the Year, splitting it with South Carolina punt returner Ace Sanders. Sturgis is the first Florida player to win the award since punt returner Brandon James did in 2008.

Sturgis scored 101 points during the 2012 season and became the third player in school history to score 300 points in a career. He is tied for third in the country in field goals, while leading the SEC with 20 field goals and an 85.2% field goal percentage.

Texas A&M freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel was named Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year. South Carolina sophomore defensive end Jadeveon Clowney was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Alabama offensive lineman Barrett Jones was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Texas A&M offensive tackle Luke Joeckel was given the Jacobs Blocking Trophy.

Fightin Gators Top Stories