Gators Rake in All-SEC Awards

Billy Donovan has been awarded the SEC's Coach of the year. Patric Young picks up numerous awards. There are four Gators on the All-SEC first and second team. Michael Frazier listed on SEC All-Freshman team. It was a landslide of awards handed out to the number 11/13 Gators on Tuesday.

Billy Donovan won the Coach of the Year Award for just his second time after a 14-4 run and outright SEC Championship during the regular season. The Gators all-time winningest coach has had more blowout wins in conference than the team has ever had.

Erik Murphy finished with a strong season and made the All-SEC first team. Averaging 12.4 points, 5.2 rebounds and leading the SEC in three-point shooting percentage, Murphy turned his last season as a Gator into a great one with his inside and outside play.

The second team All-SEC had three Gators listed with seniors Kenny Boynton and Mike Rosario and junior Patric Young. The trio also averaged double figure scoring with Boynton (12.5), Rosario (12.3), and Young (10.5).

Young was also named the SEC's Scholar Athlete of the Year for the second consecutive year has a 3.38 GPAS in telecommunications and is also pulling down 6.8 rebounds per game.

Young also made the SEC's All-Defensive team along with junior point guard Scottie Wilbekin who leads the team with 41 steals on the season to go along with scoring 9.0 points per game.

Finally, freshman guard Michael Frazier got in the act as part of the SEC's All-Freshman team. Frazier averaged 6.0 points, and 3,3 rebounds per game coming off of the bench. He also made 46 three-point shots at an astonishing 48.4% clip.

The Gators continue their play Friday in the SEC Basketball Tournament.

Fightin Gators Top Stories