Donovan named AP SEC Coach of the Year

The accolades continued to pour in for Florida basketball on Monday. Head coach Billy Donovan was named AP coach of the year in the SEC while Erik Murphy was named to the All-SEC first team.

Billy Donovan led Florida to the regular season SEC title and a 24-6 record during the season, including 14-4 in the SEC. The Gators reached their third SEC tournament final in the last three years and start their 13th NCAA Tournament berth on Friday.

Erik Murphy was named to the first team All-SEC by the Associated Press after also being named to the first team by the league coaches. He was named to the All-SEC Tournament Team on Sunday. Murphy shot 45.6% from behind the three-point line.

Kenny Boynton, Mike Rosario, Scottie Wilbekin and Patric Young were all named Associated Press All-SEC honorable mention.

The Gators return to action on Friday in Austin, Texas as they open play against Northwestern State at 7:27 p.m. The game will be televised on truTV.

Fightin Gators Top Stories