Eleven Gators on Phil Steele All-SEC Team

There were 11 Florida players selected to the 2013 Phil Steele Preseason All-SEC Team that was released on Tuesday. Three players were selected to the first team.

Defensive lineman Dominique Easley was one of four defensive linemen selected for the first team, along with South Carolina's Jadeveon Clowney, LSU's Anthony Johnson and Tennessee's Daniel McCullers. The other two first-team selections were on special teams with punter Kyle Christy and kickoff returner Andre Debose.

The two second-team selections came on the defensive side of the ball. Defensive lineman Ronald Powell is coming back from a torn ACL that forced him to miss all of 2012, but he still earned a second team selection. Cornerback Marcus Roberson was also placed on the second team.

Florida's first selection on offense came with Jonotthan Harrison as the third-team center. Antonio Morrison filled in for the often-injured Jelani Jenkins last season, and he earned a spot on the third team defense at linebacker.

The fourth team is loaded with Florida players. Quarterback Jeff Driskel was named to the fourth team offense after Johnny Manziel, A.J. McCarron and Aaron Murray were selected on the first three teams. Loucheiz Purifoy was selected to the fourth team at wide receiver after playing the position sparingly in 2012. Offensive guard Jon Halapio was also on the fourth team.

Purifoy also earned a spot as the fourth team cornerback, joining Jaylen Watkins as the fourth team safety.

Fightin Gators Top Stories