Ten Gators named to Athlon Sports All-SEC

Florida had a total of ten players selected for the 2013 preseason All-SEC Team by Athlon Sports that was released late Monday. The Gators had two players selected on offense, six on defense and two on special teams.

The Gators had four players selected as first team selections. Defensive lineman Dominique Easley and cornerback Loucheiz Purifoy were both on the first team defense. Purifoy played in all 13 games last season, forcing three fumbles, blocking two kicks and being fourth on the team with 51 tackles, adding five pass breakups. He will be more involved on the offensive side of the ball this year.

Punter Kyle Christy and kickoff returner Andre Debose were both on the first team for special teams. Debose returns for his senior year with the highest kickoff return average in school history at 27.4 yards per return.

Cornerback Marcus Roberson was the only Florida player selected on the second team. Guard Jon Halapio and linebacker Antonio Morrison were both selected to the third team. Morrison played in all 13 games last year and made 34 tackles. Halapio leads the Florida offense with 27 straight starts.

The fourth team honored center Jonotthan Harrison with defensive end Dante Fowler and safety Jaylen Watkins both being selected to the fourth team defense. Fowler played in all 13 games as a freshman and made 30 tackles, adding 2.5 sacks and eight tackles for a loss. Fowler also made a tackle for loss in four of the last five games of the season.

Fightin Gators Top Stories