Gators finish fourth in Directors’ Cup

The Florida athletic program completed another strong season.

The Gators finished No. 4 in the Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup, the seventh-straight year Florida has finished in the top four. It’s the 32nd straight year the Gators have finished in the top 10, something no other athletic program can say. Florida was the only Southeastern Conference program to finish in the top 10.

“There were so many great performances by the Gators this season,” Florida athletic director Jeremy Foley said. “Gymnastics and softball repeated as national champions and many other Florida teams were challenging for the top spot. Competing at this level is the result of hard work and effort by the Gators and their coaches. We certainly appreciate the passion and teamwork displayed by the Gators throughout this season.”

There were 13 different Florida sports that finished the year in the top 10, the second most in school history. The athletic department was anchored by national titles won by gymnastics and softball.

These Florida sports finished in the top 10 nationally: gymnastics (No. 1), softball (No. 1), men’s indoor track and field (No. 2), men’s outdoor track and field (No. 2), baseball (No. T-3), women’s indoor track and field (No. 4), men’s swimming and diving (No. 5 ), soccer (No. T-5), women’s tennis (No. T-5), volleyball (No. T-5), women’s outdoor track and field (No. 8), women’s swimming and diving (No. 9), and lacrosse (No. T-9).

Florida led the league with six SEC titles (softball, men’s swimming and diving, women’s tennis, men’s indoor and outdoor track and field, volleyball). Lacrosse also won the BIG EAST Conference title in its first season in the league.

Three different Gators were named national athlete of the year for their sport -- Marquis Dendy (indoor and outdoor USTFCCCA National Field Athlete of the Year), Lauren Haeger (USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year & Honda Award for softball) and Kytra Hunter (Honda Award for gymnastics). Brooke Austin (tennis) and J.J. Schwarz (baseball) were both named national freshman of the year for their sport.

Fightin Gators Top Stories