Gators Sweep SEC Soccer Players of the Year

The Southeastern Conference announced their yearly awards for soccer on Sunday.  Florida swept the player of the year honors with junior Savannah Jordan as SEC Offensive Player of the Year and senior Christen Westphal SEC Defender of the Year. 

This is the second time Jordan has received SEC Offensive Player of the Year since 2013 and third time making the All-SEC first team.  Westphal has made All-SEC first team every year of her collegiate career.

Senior Defender Claire Falknor joined Jordan and Westphal on the 2015 all-SEC first team.  Junior midfielder Meggie Dougherty Howard received honors of All-SEC second team.  Mayra Pelayo made the SEC All-Freshman team.

Jordan (pictured below) is currently ranked second in the nation with 19 goals this season.  She scored her 60th collegiate goal in her 65th match, matching Abby Wambach as the second quickest Gator to reach 60goals in school history. 

Westphal (pictured at top of story) leads the Gators with 10 assists this season, which is tied for first in the SEC.  Westphal averages 90 minutes per match. 

This is Falknor’s second consecutive All-SEC honor.  Falknor averages 90.3 minutes per match. 

Going forward:

The Gators are headed to the SEC Tournament in Orange Beach, Alabama for their first game on Wednesday at 6 p.m. ET.  The Gators will face the winner of Monday’s match between No.8 seed Vanderbilt and No. 9 Georgia. 



Fightin Gators Top Stories