McElwain a semifinalist for Coach of the Year

Florida's first year coach has worked wonders for the Gators.

PHILADELPHIA- (special to Fightin' Gators) Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2015 semi-finalists for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award, which is presented yearly by the Maxwell Football Club. The list includes a field of 18 candidates for the award which have been selected by the MFC National Selection Committee.

In just his first season as head coach, Jim McElwain has 'restored the order' in Gainesville with a Southeastern Conference East Division title in his first season, becoming the third first-year head coach in the SEC to reach the SEC Championship game, joining LSU's Les Miles (2005) and Auburn's Gus Malzhan (2013).

2015 George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Semi-Finalists

*        Mark Dantonio, Michigan State University

*        Larry Fedora, University of North Carolina

*        Kirk Ferentz, University of Iowa

*        Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern University

*        Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State University

*        Jim Harbaugh, University of Michigan

*        Tom Herman, University of Houston

*        Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

*        Mike Leach, Washington State University

*        Jim McElwain, University of Florida

*        Urban Meyer, Ohio State University

*        Ken Niumatalolo, U.S. Naval Academy

*        Matt Rhule, Temple University

*        Nick Saban, University of Alabama

*        David Shaw, Stanford University

*        Bob Stoops, University of Oklahoma

*        Dabo Swinney, Clemson University

*        Kyle Whittingham, University of Utah

Semi-finalist voting for of the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Monday, November 23rd and close on Monday December 7th. The finalist round will include the top three coaches as selected in the semi-finalist round. Finalist voting will open December 8th and run until December 20th. The winner will be announced on December 21st.

The formal presentation of the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club's National Awards Gala on Friday March 11, 2016 at the Tropicana Hotel & Casino in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. Dan Mullen of Mississippi State University was the 2014 winner of the award.

Fightin Gators Top Stories