Kan Li / Scout.com

Five Florida Gators on All-SEC Teams

The league’s coaches honored five Florida players on the first or second team.

Florida defensive lineman Jonathan Bullard, cornerback Vernon Hargreaves III and cornerback Jalen Tabor were all voted to the first team while linebacker Antonio Morrison and punter Johnny Townsend were voted to the second team.

It’s the first time the Gators have put three defensive players on the first team since Carlos Dunlap, Joe Haden and Brandon Spikes were on the 2009 team. It’s the first time the Gators have put two defensive backs on the first team since Ahmad Black and Janoris Jenkins did it in 2010.

Bullard chose to return for his senior season with eyes on a breakout season. He delivered that, finishing with 63 tackles and a team-high 17.5 tackles for a loss with 6.5 sacks. He added six quarterback hurries while being one of the best run defenders in college football.

Hargreaves was voted to the first team for the third consecutive season. He had four interceptions with four pass breakups and one forced fumble.

Tabor had the best statistical season in the Florida secondary. The sophomore had 33 tackles and three tackles for a loss with four interceptions, two that were returned for touchdowns, to go with 14 pass breakups

Morrison was on the second team while leading the Gators with 97 tackles. Morrison had 12 tackles for a loss, three quarterback hurries and one forced fumble as an integral part of the Florida defense.

Townsend was an important part of the Gators’ success. While the offense struggled late in the season, Townsend’s punting helped the Gators still command field position. He averaged 44.9 yards per punt with a long of 61 yards. The redshirt sophomore dropped 29 punts inside the opponent’s 20-yard lien to only four touchbacks. Of his 79 punts, 26 of them went for 50+ yards.

The USA Today named safety Marcus Maye a First Team All-American on Tuesday, but he didn’t make either All-SEC team.

Fightin Gators Top Stories