Kan Li / Scout

Callaway On Paul Hornung Award Watch List

Left out of most preseason award lists for 2016, Florida sophomore receiver Antonio Callaway was named to the watch list of the Paul Horning Award on Friday.

The Paul Hornung Award was created in January 2010 by the LSC with the support of Paul Hornung, a native and resident of Louisville, Kentucky and member of the College Football and Pro Football Hall of Fames. The mission of the award is to recognize and reward versatile, high-level performers in major college football, and help preserve the legacy Hornung.

Callaway should be listed on various lists this preseason but his status for the season is a bit unclear. The likelihood of him returning for all or most of the year is great, but that can’t be answered at this time and therefore his absence on many of the awards’ lists.

Callaway earned CBS Sports First Team All-American as a punt returner and a Freshman First Team All-American by the Sporting News and Pro Football Focus honors as a true freshman in 2015. He earned various spots on All-SEC teams as well

From Miami, Antonio Callaway was the only player in the FBS that had at least 345 punt return yards and 480 receiving yards and became the only true freshman since 2008 to mass 435-plus punt return yards and 675-plus receiving yards in a season. He recorded a pair of punt return touchdowns and a Florida true-freshman record 678 receiving yards.

His 17.6 yards per play in all-purpose yards (1,211 total) is the fourth highest by any Florida freshman ever (minimum of 60 plays).

Overall, he recorded a team-high 1,211 all-purpose yards on 69 plays, which averaged out to 17.6 yards per play. That mark ranks as the fourth-highest in UF history and best ever by a Gator freshman (min. 60 plays).


2016 Paul Horning Watch List Selections 

Ishmael Adams, UCLA

Victor Bolden Jr., Oregon State

Antonio Callaway, Florida

Seth Collins, Oregon State

Jared Cornelius, Arkansas

Tim Crawley, San Jose State

DeVon Edwards, Duke

Brisly Estime, Syracuse

Johnathan Ford, Auburn

Janarion Grant, Rutgers

Nyheim Hines, NC State

Brandon Holloway, Mississippi State

Adoree' Jackson, USC

D'Ernest Johnson, South Florida

Quay Johnson, East Carolina

Xavier Johnson, South Alabama

Corey Jones, Toledo

Desmond King, Iowa

Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

Donovan Lee, Colorado

William Likely, Maryland

Jalen McCleskey, Oklahoma State

Christian McCaffrey, Stanford

Elijah McGuire, Louisiana Lafayette

Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia

Charles Nelson, Oregon

Zach Pascal, Old Dominion

Rashaad Penny, San Diego State

Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

Darius Phillips, Western Michigan

Trevor Ryen, Iowa State

Artavis Scott, Clemson

R.J. Shelton, Michigan State

Cameron Sutton, Tennessee

Ryan Switzer, North Carolina

Jahad Thomas, Temple

Aregeros Turner, Northern Illinois

KaVontae Turpin, TCU

Tim White, Arizona State

Jordan Whitehead, Pittsburgh

Brandon Wilson, Houston

Dontre Wilson, Ohio State

Olamide Zaccheaus, Virginia

Fightin Gators Top Stories