CBS Sports

Gator Great Lomas Brown on 2018 CFB Hall of Fame Ballot

Former University of Florida offensive lineman Lomas Brown is among 75 players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision that are up for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2018, the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced Thursday.


Brown, a 1984 consensus First Team All-American and two-time All-SEC performer, led the Gators to three consecutive bowl berths and top 10 national final rankings in 1983 and 1984.

In addition, he was the recipient of Jacobs Blocking Trophy as the SEC's top blocker in 1984. During that season, Brown anchored the Gators' outstanding offensive line that helped Florida to a 9-1-1 overall win-loss record and a 5-0-1 mark in conference play.

Brown was inducted into the University of Florida Athletic Hall of Fame as a "Gator Great" in 1995.

However, Brown's success did not stop following his college career. In 18 seasons in the NFL, he was a Super Bowl Champion (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002), seven-time Pro Bowl pick (1990-96), three-time First Team All-Pro selection (1989, 1990, 1994) and a three-time Second Team All-Pro honoree.

Following his playing career, Brown spent time with the NFL Network and ESPNEWS as an analyst.

NFF Hall of Fame Voting Process

The ballot was emailed today to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Courts, which will deliberate and select the class. The FBS Honors Court, chaired by NFF Board Member and College Football Hall of Famer Archie Griffin from Ohio State, and the Divisional Honors Court, chaired by former Marshall head coach, longtime athletics director and NFF Board Member Jack Lengyel, include an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletic administrators, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

What's Next?

The announcement of the 2018 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta. The city is serving as the host for the CFP National Championship, which will be played later that day at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Some of the inductees will be on site during the announcement to represent the class and share their thoughts on being elected. The Jan. 8 announcement will be televised live, and specific viewing information will be available as the date draws near. A few inductees will also participate in the pregame festivities and the coin toss before the championship game.

The 2018 class will officially be inducted during the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4, 2018, at the New York Hilton Midtown. The inductees will be permanently enshrined at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta later that December and honored on the field during the 14th Annual National Hall of Fame Salute during the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. They will also be honored at their respective schools at an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the 2018 season.

Fightin Gators Top Stories