Fedora Named OC

University of Florida assistant coach Larry Fedora has been named offensive coordinator head coach Ron Zook announced Thursday evening. Ed Zaunbrecher will coach the Gator quarterbacks.

"I think this move on our coaching staff will allow us to take advantage of all of our strengths," said Zook. "Coach Fedora has a great offensive mind and Coach Zaunbrecher has a proven track record with successfully grooming quarterbacks."

Fedora will be entering his third year on the Gator coaching staff and his 16th year of collegiate coaching. He was the running backs coach in his first season at UF and was the perimeter game coordinator & receivers coach last year. Fedora served as the offensive coordinator at Middle Tennessee State for three years prior to joining Zook's staff in 2002.

In three seasons as Middle Tennessee's offensive coordinator, Fedora produced one of the nation's most prolific offenses. The Blue Raiders averaged 424 yards of total offense, 181 rushing yards and 31 points per game and broke 43 offensive school records and one NCAA record over three seasons.

In 2001, Middle Tennessee ranked fifth nationally in total offense, averaging 481.5 yards per game. In 1999 and 2000, Middle Tennessee ranked among the top 16 teams in the nation in total offense (357.8 ypg in 1999 and 433.5 ypg in 2000).

"I'm excited about the opportunity to be the offensive coordinator at Florida," said Fedora. "I'm even more excited about maintaining the continuity on our offensive staff. There are not a many offensive coordinators in the country that have the luxury of leaning on the experience Ed Zaunbrecher brings to the table."

Zaunbrecher, who will be entering his 30th year of collegiate coaching and his third at Florida, has coached 36 players who have been drafted in the NFL, including six first round draft picks.

Nine quarterbacks he has coached have set new school passing records, including Chris Leak (Florida), Rex Grossman (Florida) Chad Pennington (Marshall), Byron Leftwich (Marshall), Tommy Hodson (LSU), Jeff Wickersham (LSU), Raymond Philyaw (ULM), Mark Herrmann (Purdue) and Jim Miller (Michigan State).

"I've always done what the head coach has asked me to do and will continue to do so," said Zaunbrecher.

Fightin Gators Top Stories