Five Softball Players Earn Six All-SEC Honors

Five University of Florida Softball student-athletes earned six All-Southeastern Conference honors the conference announced today. The release of the All-SEC first and second teams, the All-Freshman team and the Player of the Year, Pitcher of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were announced Wednesday night at the SEC Tournament Opening Ceremony at the Alabama Softball Complex in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Three Gators made the All-SEC Second team. Senior pitcher Jenny Gladding earned the second all-conference honor of her career as did senior second baseman Mylin Prieto. Gladding finished the season with a school best 0.78 ERA and 215 strikeouts. Her ERA still leads the SEC. Prieto is currently hitting .259 and shares the team lead in runs scored with 23. Freshman first baseman Melissa Zick also earned second team honors. Zick has led the team in batting average most of the season. She was ranked among the top 11 SEC players by batting average for most of the season as well. She is currently hitting .298 and leads the team in hits (50), doubles (12), home runs (5) and has only two errors on the season.

In the first season for naming an All-Freshman team, Florida placed three players on the team. Zick, shortstop Lauren Roussell and catcher Michelle Diaz all earned the honor. Roussell is hitting .240 going into the tournament and has a .398 on base percentage as she leads the team in walks (33) and hit by pitch (6). She is the only player to have started in all 56 of Florida's games this season. Diaz has been a consistent part of Florida's battery this season. She leads the team with a .995 fielding percentage and has thrown out six runners attempting to steal on her with one pick off. She is currently hitting .266.

Mississippi State's senior outfielder Iyhia McMichael was named the SEC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Tennessee freshman pitcher Monica Abbott was named the Pitcher of the Year as well as Freshman of the Year. South Carolina sophomore Angela Brewer and Mississippi State senior Kate Jaspers were named co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Tennessee co-head coaches Ralph and Karen Weekly were recognized by the fellow coaches as being coaches of the year after leading their team to win the SEC East division.

Tournament play begins tomorrow at the Alabama Softball Complex. Mississippi State and Tennessee open the tournament at 11 a.m. central time. Florida will take on rival Georgia at 1:30 p.m. Florida will play either Mississippi State or Tennessee in their second round game on Friday at either 11 a.m. or 5 p.m.

Fightin Gators Top Stories