Degory and Crowder added to award watch lists

Center Mike Degory has been named to the Outland Trophy watch list for the top interior lineman in college football. Linebacker Channing Crowder has also been named to a watch list, namely the Bronko Nagurski list for best defensive player in the country.

University of Florida center Mike Degory has been named to the Outland Trophy watch list, as selected by the FWAA, for the top interior lineman in college football on either side of the ball.

The junior is set to begin his third season as the starting center for the Gators. Last season Degory was named Second-Team All-SEC (coaches)and also received SEC Academic Honor Roll recognition. Degory is also on the Rimington Trophy Watch list for the second consecutive season, an award honoring the nation's top center.

Presented since 1946, the Outland Trophy is the third oldest award in college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award. It is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at the

University of Pennsylvania at the turn of the century.

The 2004 Outland Trophy winner will be announced on Dec. 9, 2004 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla. The Outland Trophy will be presented to the winner by the Omaha Sports Committee on Jan. 13, 2005 at a banquet in Omaha, Neb.

Crowder added to Nagurski Award Watch List

University of Florida linebacker Channing Crowder has been named to the 2004 Bronko Nagurski Award watch list, as selected by the FWAA, for the best defensive player in the country, regardless of position.

Crowder is coming off a stellar 2003 campaign in which the true freshman compiled 106 total tackles, five for a loss, and two quarterback sacks in 11 games, starting nine, a record for freshmen linebackers at UF.

Crowder was named to The Sporting News All-Freshman team, the All-America team, the Scripps/FWAA All-America team, Second-Team All-SEC (Coaches), and was dubbed The Sporting News SEC Defensive Freshman of the Year.

The FWAA will select a defensive player of the week during the 2004 season. Top defensive performances around the country will be submitted by schools and conferences. An FWAA committee will select the winner from those nominees.

The winner of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club, will be named on Dec. 6 at a banquet in Charlotte, N.C.

Fightin Gators Top Stories