MEN'S GOLF: Every Named To Hogan Watch List

University of Florida men's golfer Matt Every has been named to the 2005 Ben Hogan Award Watch List as announced by the Bank of America, in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

The Hogan Award is the highest honor that can be presented to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Every (Daytona Beach, Fla.), a junior, was a 2004 Ben Hogan Award semi-finalist as he earned PING first-team All-American status as well as being recognized as a member of the PING All-Southeast Region team. With three top-10 finishes to date this season, Every leads the No. 18 Gators with a 72.40 stroke average. A member of the 2004 U.S. Palmer Cup team, Every advanced into the quarterfinals of the 2004 U.S. Amateur Public Links Championships and qualified for the 2004 U.S. Amateur.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists on March 24 and name three finalists on April 20. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 14 at Colonial Country Club – the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.

2005 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List

(in alphabetical order) Travis Bertoni, Cal Poly; Ryan Blaum, Duke; Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State; Matt Every, Florida; Jack Ferguson, Clemson; John Holmes, Kentucky; Anthony Kim, Oklahoma; Spencer Levin, New Mexico; Luke List, Vanderbilt; Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State; Ryan Moore, UNLV; Jeff Overton, Indiana; Shane Prante, St. Martin's; Aron Price, Georgia Southern; Michael Putnam, Pepperdine; Matthew Rosenfeld, Texas; Webb Simpson, Wake Forest; Nicholas Thompson, Georgia Tech; Martin Ureta, North Carolina; Lee Williams, Auburn

Fightin Gators Top Stories