FOOTBALL: Degory named to Rimington Trophy List

For the third time in his career, University of Florida center Mike Degory was named to the Dave Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List of top collegiate centers Wednesday. Awarded annually to the most outstanding center in the country, the Dave Rimington Trophy enters the 2005 season with a strong field of potential stand out centers.

Degory has started 38 consecutive games (every game of his career) and has been an All-SEC Second-Team selection by the Coaches' and AP in both 2003 and 2004. He was named UF's "Outstanding Offensive Lineman" during those same seasons. In addition, he was named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll a season ago.

"We are excited to be heading into our sixth season of recognizing the top center in the nation. David Baas from Michigan and Ben Wilkerson from LSU were excellent recipients of the award in 2004. This Spring's watch list is packed with solid candidates for 2005," said Dave Rimington.

The Rimington Trophy recipient is determined by a consensus of the four All-America teams: The Walter Camp Football Foundation, America Football Coaches Association, Football Writers Association of America and "The Sporting News."

The six-year old trophy (Nebraska's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, Miami's Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, Michigan's David Baas and LSU's Ben Wilkerson are past recipients) is presented by Canon USA and Black & Decker. The award is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Esiason created his foundation in 1993 to support research and treatment of cystic fibrosis.

Esiason and Dave Rimington were teammates on the Cincinnati Bengals from 1984-87. Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and '82 - years in which he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's premier college interior lineman.

Fightin Gators Top Stories