Degory Named To Outland Trophy Watch List

DALLAS (FWAA) - University of Florida center Mike Degory was one of 36 standout linemen from around the country among those on the 2005 Outland Trophy Watch list, which has been awarded to the best interior offensive or defensive lineman in college football since 1946. The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man team and picks three Outland Trophy finalists.

Degory, a redshirt senior from Palm Bay, Fla., has started 38 consecutive games at center for the Gators (every game of his career). In 2004, he was named to the All-SEC Second-Team by the Coaches and AP for the second straight season. He was named UF's "Outstanding Offensive Lineman" during those same seasons. In addition, he was named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll in 2004.

The 2005 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 8 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee and First Data Corporation, is set for Jan. 12, 2006, in Omaha, Neb.

Former Outland winner Ron Yary from USC (1967), will make the announcement of the 2005 winner in Orlando. Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.

Fightin Gators Top Stories