FOOTBALL: 12 players land on SEC Pre-Season Team

GAINESVILLE, Fla. * The University of Florida landed a league-high 12 players on the 2005 Southeastern Conference Coaches Pre-Season Football Team as announced by the conference office Wednesday morning.

Offensive lineman Randy Hand (Fort Myers, Fla.), center Mike Degory (Palm Bay, Fla.) and wide receiver Andre Caldwell (Tampa, Fla.) earned First Team All-SEC offensive honors to lead a conference-best seven Gators on the offensive side.

Quarterback Chris Leak (Charlotte, N.C.) and wide receiver Dallas Baker (New Smyrna Beach, Fla.) were selected for the second team, while offensive lineman Tavares Washington (Greenville, Miss.) and wide-receiver Chad Jackson (Hoover, Ala.) were named to the third team.

Florida earned four defensive selections including linebacker Earl Everett (Webster, Fla.), defensive backs Jarvis Herring (Opelika, Ala.) and Demetrice Webb (Jacksonville, Fla.) who were selected to the Second Team All-SEC defense.

Linebacker Brandon Siler (Orlando, Fla.) also earned a third team honors.

Eric Wilbur (Winter Park, Fla.) was the Gators' lone representative on special teams with a second team selection.

The Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team enters its second year and was voted on by the leagues 12 head coaches. Coaches could not vote for players from their own teams. It is released in advance of the 2005 SEC Football Media Days, which will be held July 27-29, at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Ala.

For the complete pre-season list, click here...

Fightin Gators Top Stories