FOOTBALL: Two receivers on Biletnikoff Watch List

Tallahassee, Fla. - University of Florida junior wide receivers Andre Caldwell (Tampa, Fla.) and Chad Jackson (Hoover, Ala.) have been named to the Watch List for the 2005 Biletnikoff Award presented annually to the nation's outstanding receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

-Caldwell has seen action in 25 games and has made 12 starts. His 62 career catches are tied for sixth-best in UF history by a Gator receiver in his freshman and sophomore seasons combined. In 2004, he finished second on the squad with 43 receptions and 689 receiving yards. He also averaged 57.4 receiving yards per game in 2004. The total is the highest among returning receivers in the SEC this year.

Jackson has started three games and appeared in 25 contests during his time with the Gators. He has 32 career receptions for 686 yards and seven touchdowns. In 2004, he established a school record with his team-best 22.3 yards per catch average (min. 25 catches), which ranked third nationally. He was also the first UF receiver since 1999 to record two catches of over 60 yards in the same season when he hauled in a career-high 81-yard touchdown pass at Tennessee and made a 65-yard reception against Kentucky.

Florida has had nine different receivers named a semifinalist for the award, four of whom made it to the finalist stage.

The award is presented annually on the ESPN College Awards Show and the annual awards banquet is held during February in Tallahassee, Fla.

2005 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

  • University of Florida Andre Caldwell
  • Georgia Tech Calvin Johnson
  • University of Florida Chad Jackson
  • Bowling Green State University Charles Sharon
  • Auburn University Courtney Taylor
  • Arizona State University Derek Hagan
  • Oklahoma State University D'Juan Woods
  • University of Southern California Dwayne Jarrett
  • Eastern Michigan University Eric Deslauriers
  • Western Michigan University Greg Jennings
  • University of Pittsburgh Greg Lee
  • University of New Mexico Hank Baskett
  • Texas Tech University Jarrett Hicks
  • University of Michigan Jason Avant
  • Washington State University Jason Hill
  • University of Wyoming Jovon Bouknight
  • University of Miami, Florida Lance Leggett
  • Miami University, Ohio Martin Nance
  • Oregon State University Mike Hass
  • University of Nevada Nichiren Flowers
  • University of Tennessee Robert Meachem
  • Ohio State University Santanio Holmes
  • University of Missouri Sean Coffey
  • University of Michigan Steve Breaston
  • University of Southern California Steve Smith
  • Ohio State University Ted Ginn, Jr.
  • Iowa State University Todd Blythe
  • Brigham Young University Todd Watkins
  • University of Oklahoma Travis Wilson
  • Rutgers University Tres Moses
  • University of Houston Vincent Marshall

Fightin Gators Top Stories